problem in connection-ora-12545
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: problem in connection-ora-12545

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    104
    hi,
    my listener is running on server,tnsping is ok at client node, but sql*plus is not connecting giving the error-

    ORA-12545 TNS:name lookup failure

    This message occurs when the listener on the remote node cannot be contacted. The ADDRESS in the TNSNAMES.ORA file or the LISTENER.ORA file may be incorrect. This message may also appear if the listener on the remote node has not been started. Check its status with the STATUS command of the Listener Control Utility, and start it with the START command if necessary.

    this is the tnsnames.ora-
    # E:\ORACLE\ORAHOME81\NETWORK\ADMIN\TNSNAMES.ORA Configuration File:E:\oracle\orahome81\network\admin\tnsnames.ora
    # Generated by Oracle Net8 Assistant

    ORTELAPP.SKYCABLE.NET =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = APPSERVER)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = ORTEL)
    )
    )

    EXTPROC_CONNECTION_DATA.SKYCABLE.NET =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = EXTPROC0))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SID = PLSExtProc)
    (PRESENTATION = RO)
    )
    )

    ORACLE.SKYCABLE.NET =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(PORT = 1521)(HOST = database))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = oracle)
    )
    )

    ORACLE1.SKYCABLE.NET =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = database)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = oracle1)
    )
    )

    this is listener.ora
    # E:\ORACLE\ORAHOME81\NETWORK\ADMIN\LISTENER.ORA Configuration File:E:\oracle\orahome81\network\admin\listener.ora
    # Generated by Oracle Net8 Assistant

    LISTENER =
    (DESCRIPTION_LIST =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = EXTPROC0))
    )
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = database)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    )
    )

    SID_LIST_LISTENER =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (SID_NAME = PLSExtProc)
    (ORACLE_HOME = E:\oracle\orahome81)
    (PROGRAM = extproc)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = oracle)
    (ORACLE_HOME = E:\oracle\orahome81)
    (SID_NAME = ORACLE)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = oracle1)
    (ORACLE_HOME = E:\oracle\orahome81)
    (SID_NAME = ORACLE1)
    )
    )


    I am trying to connect with oracle1.
    pl help soon.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    in TNSNAMES.ORA change

    ORACLE.SKYCABLE.NET =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(PORT = 1521)(HOST = database))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = oracle)
    )
    )



    to


    ORACLE.SKYCABLE.NET =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(PORT = 1521)(HOST = database))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SID = oracle)
    )
    )

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    103
    Drishti,

    You are specifying the wrong hostname in your tnsnames.ora file.

    HOST=server name or IP address and not dbname.

    Hope this helps.

    Cheers
    pst


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    the host is correct if you check the listener.ora pst

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    the problem is

    ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(PORT = 1521)(HOST = database))

    PORT should be after HOST

    ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = database)(PORT = 1521))

  6. #6
    ORACLE1 is in the right order.
    It's correct about SERVICE_NAME and SID_NAME, those methods are not compatible.
    If you want to use SERVICE_NAME, you have to put it in the listener too.
    The easy way is changing everything to SID_NAME
    Ramon Caballero, DBA, rcaballe@yahoo.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    104
    hello pando,
    I tried with the same as U told but still the same problem persists.I changed the service name to SID in tnsnames.ora.still ora-12545 comes up .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    india
    Posts
    54
    Hi,
    As pst suggest,give the IPADDRESS in the host place in tnsnames.ora and give a try.

    One more way u can give a try is just rename the existing tnsnames.ora and listener.ora.
    Try giving the IPaddress when u use net8 assistant as well.
    Create a new tnsnames.ora using net8 assistant.Stope the listener and start the listener again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width