redo log alloaction problem urgent
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: redo log alloaction problem urgent

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    104
    hello
    this is the extract of my alertlog,pl help soon-
    thread 1 cannot allocate new log,sequence 1036
    all online logs need archivelog
    shutting down instance
    license hwm=17
    ora-00600-internal error code,arguments :[12333],[7],[5],[49],[],[]

    the db is getting downfrequently.pl help soon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    is your arch directory full

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    104
    hello,and thanks for response
    yesterday I recreated a database in archivelog mode.previously it was in noarchivelog mode.
    today morning i saw some errors in alertlog like this-
    ARC0: Beginning to archive log# 1 seq# 1021
    Mon Nov 06 11:47:19 2000
    Thread 1 cannot allocate new log, sequence 1023
    All online logs needed archiving
    Current log# 2 seq# 1022 mem# 0: E:\ORACLE\ORADATA\ORTEL\REDO02.LOG
    Mon Nov 06 11:47:21 2000
    ARC0: Completed archiving log# 1 seq# 1021
    ARC0: re-scanning for new log files
    ARC0: prodding the archiver
    ARC0: STARTING ARCH PROCESSES
    ARC1: Failed to archive log# 2 seq# 1022

    so on seeing this i changed the parameters in init.ora
    as i am not being able to connect as internal -
    so i cant do alter database noarchivelog;
    restarted the db.

    within 5 minutes i got this errors
    oracle error during redolog archival ,cannot allocate log
    archival needed.
    as previuosly stated-
    can u get it?hurry pl.




  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    so basically you are still in archivelog, why you cant connect with internal? Do you use passwordfile, if you do you can connect with sys or system with sysdba or sysoper role to startup or shutdown the database.
    Is it in UNIX or NT, production or development

    also try

    alter system archive log start to '/another_directory';
    to change the directory of archive logs

    or
    alter system archive log stop;
    this will stop archive process ARCH0 & ARCH1

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    78

    Arrow do an ALTER DATABASE ARCHIVELOG

    U must do

    ALTER DATABASE ARCHIVELOG

    U cannot just alter the init.ora.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    I think he cant even do that since he cant connect as internal to startup the database in mount state to change to noarchive log, I guess itīs fasterby stopping the ARCH processes to stop archiving

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    78
    but if he wants archiving...he nust do the alter system archivelog thing

    I didn't understand why he can't connect as internal?!?!?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    I think he is in archivelog already, well according to his alert log it seems like the ARCH0 & 1 are trying to archive the logs anyway.

    I dont know why he cant connect as internal neither :o May be he is running 9i? :D just kidding

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    78
    what's with the 9i? there is not internal there? :)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    yea I heard internal is gone in 9i, it was supposed to be phase out in 8.1.7 though :)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width