DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RBO gone, who cares?

RBO gone, who cares?

What is all the fuss about the Rule Based Optimizer going in 10G. I've never used it since Oracle7 and it's been an Oracle recommendation not to use it since then.

I agree with Tom Kyte all the way. Use the CBO and avoid hints like the plague (not counting APPEND and PARALLEL etc). I've seen people try to be clever with hints only to destroy the performance when data volumes change.

I've been doing this for over 8 years in many companies and I've not seen a single case where the RBO was useful for production code and I've only needed hints on a handful of very specific occasions.

Anyone think different?

Cheers
    Tim...
    OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
    OCA PL/SQL Developer
    Oracle ACE Director
    My website: oracle-base.com
    My blog: oracle-base.com/blog

True Tim, I too don't care but I think many shops are still running their legacy applications using RBO on Oracle7.
    Sanjay G.
    Oracle Certified Professional 8i, 9i.

"The degree of normality in a database is inversely proportional to that of its DBA"

Tim :

Not always CBO is good, some times it suks !!

Ok, here is just a simple eg,

Code:
    SCIW_PRODUCTION_DBA> select table_name,index_name,column_position,substr(column_name, 1, 30) from dba_ind_columns
      2  where table_name='WKLY_ADV_DELTA_AGGR_FIS' order by table_name,index_name,column_position;

TABLE_NAME                     INDEX_NAME                          COLUMN_POSITION SUBSTR(COLUMN_NAME,1,30)      
    ------------------------------ ------------------------------ -------------------- ------------------------------
    WKLY_ADV_DELTA_AGGR_FIS        BIT_WKLY_ADV_DELTA_AGGR_FIS                       1 PH_LEVEL_NO                   
    WKLY_ADV_DELTA_AGGR_FIS        BIT_WKLY_ADV_DELTA_AGGR_FIS                       2 VER_STAT_NAME