DB Configuration Asst . v. Manual Creation - opinions
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: DB Configuration Asst . v. Manual Creation - opinions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Chester, England.
    Posts
    818

    DB Configuration Asst . v. Manual Creation - opinions

    I always use the config assistant to create databases but I would prefer to do it manually as I'd be aware of exactly what I'm doing and what's going on.

    I'd like to find some details on creating DBs manually (on Windoz NT and 2K). Anyone know of any good resources/sites with detailed step by step instructions?

    Also - what's the opinion out there about using the Config Assistant? (in 8i and 9i).
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    Why waste your time figuring out how to create a database manually when there is a GUI to do it for you. Anything you can change in a script you can change through the GUI.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Jeff,

    I agree partially - the GUI is the only way I could get the syntax right in the Net8 ora files.

    However the odds are, if you need to do it once, you will need to repeat it (e.g. rolling out a change: Dev to Test to Prod). Unless you are highly disciplined and take screen shots of every step, it's difficult to be sure it's done the same every time.

    In general I use a GUI and save the SQL to apply later. Rollout is then straight forward and, JMac, you can look at the scripts to understand what is going on.
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Chester, England.
    Posts
    818
    Well I feel a bit better after reading your comments guys. Always shyed away from GUIs as you were never sure what they were actually doing.

    I'm using the GUI now in 9i and its falling over with an ORA-00439 (Feature Not Enabled: Managed Standby).

    Can't fathom out what its trying to do as I've not specified Managed Standby anywhere in the configuration, and it appears nowhere in the init.ora that the assistant uses to try and create the DB.

    I'm stumped.

    Its Standard Edition I'm using - and yes I've checked V$OPTION which shows Managed_Standby as FALSE, which is what I'd expect from Standard Edition. So why is the assistant trying to reference it? any ideas?
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Chester, England.
    Posts
    818
    Re-running the DB creation process after contacting support.

    So far, so good. The Creation process is running several minutes after the point it failed before.

    Support pointed out that the init.ora created by the assistant specifies:

    LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST_1 = 'pathname ...'

    And pointed out it should be:

    LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST = 'pathname ...'

    So, it appeares that multiple archive destinations are Enterprise Edition territory. If so, why did the assistant use it?

    My point exactly about using GUIs. When specifying the archive dest there's no options to specify this particular point. Only later can you go back and edit the init params that the GUI has created?

    So - any idea why it does this? Any why such an obscure error message (Managed Standby???)
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    What you pointed was TRUTH nothing BUT TRUE . I normally use to save the configuration script, edit and then run. But if I choose to use the DBCA, I don't enable the archive log.

    Be happy that you learn something new from your experience

    Also check the following link: http://download-west.oracle.com/docs...hredo.htm#4150
    Sam
    Last edited by sambavan; 07-29-2003 at 12:19 PM.
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!

    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    5,253
    Originally posted by DaPi

    In general I use a GUI and save the SQL to apply later.
    Exactly what i do myself. It's the only way to ...

    i) make sure you get the syntax right
    ii) understand exactly what the create process will do
    iii) save it for reuse later
    iv) make all the little tweaks, changes, and validations that the GUI won't let you do so easily.
    David Aldridge,
    "The Oracle Sponge"

    Senior Manager, Business Intelligence Development
    XM Satellite Radio
    Washington, DC

    Oracle ACE
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Chester, England.
    Posts
    818
    Glad you said all that folks. I hate doing 'something' and not understanding how and what exactly it is I'm doing.

    So - you reckon, use the ODBCA to create the DB but disable the logging and switch that on manually after the DB is created? Sounds good.

    And yes - you live and learn! Which means the hours I spent redoing the creation were not a complete waste.
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Originally posted by JMac
    So - you reckon, use the ODBCA to create the DB
    No! The common suggestion was to use ODBCA to write database creation scripts for you, but do not allow ODBCA to actually create the database. You would run those scripts manualy, step by step, to see what each step is doing and what is the outcome.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    It is similar to the GUI tools on Solaris - they are there for the weak and effeminate; it is more manly to use scripts and commands.
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width