sql*loader help please
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: sql*loader help please

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    323

    sql*loader help please

    Hi

    How to increase default(64rows) commit point strength to more rows?

    I tried to set the bindsize and readsize parameters high, still only 64 rows bind array is applying.

    I tried this way also, but no luck: I analyzed the table and I took average row length and I multiplied with number of rows I need to insert in one go, as bindsize value.

    Please shed some light on this.

    Thanks in Advance.
    Nagesh

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    ROWS=%No_Of_Recs_you_want_to_reach_commit_point%.

    Abhay.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    323
    Originally posted by abhaysk
    ROWS=%No_Of_Recs_you_want_to_reach_commit_point%.

    Abhay.
    I tried this way still no luck.


    Sqlldr UserID=xxx/xxx@aaa rows=100000 DATA=.\abc.txt BAD=.\abc.bad LOG=.\abc.log CONTROL=.\abc.ctl


    any help..
    Nagesh

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by gnagesh
    I tried this way still no luck.


    Sqlldr UserID=xxx/xxx@aaa rows=100000 DATA=.\abc.txt BAD=.\abc.bad LOG=.\abc.log CONTROL=.\abc.ctl


    any help..
    Do you know wass the max arraysize you can have?

    I think 5000 -- Not sure.

    Abhay.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    323
    Originally posted by abhaysk
    Do you know wass the max arraysize you can have?

    I think 5000 -- Not sure.

    Abhay.
    With this setting I am able to load 1483 records.

    rows=10000000 bindsize=10000000

    Thanks for your help. Now I will do R&D on this..

    Regards
    Nagesh

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by gnagesh
    With this setting I am able to load 1483 records.

    rows=10000000 bindsize=10000000

    Thanks for your help. Now I will do R&D on this..

    Regards
    check this quote
    The bind array's size is equivalent to the number of rows it contains times the maximum length of each row. The maximum length of a row is equal to the sum of the maximum field lengths, plus overhead.

    bind array size = (number of rows) * (maximum row length)


    where:

    (maximum row length) = SUM(fixed field lengths) +
    SUM(maximum varying field lengths) +
    SUM(overhead for varying length fields)
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    323
    Yes, I also gone through this. But I executed this in a different manner like :

    I analyzed the table and I took average row length and I multiplied with number of rows I need to insert in one go, as bindsize value.

    Thanks for your contribution.
    Nagesh

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width