DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Which Operating System

Which Operating System

Hello to all, I'm a newbie to this forum; but have been lurking here for some time and have the greatest respect for the expertise of the membership here.

I've been a DBA, Analyst, and Developer of a healthcare related documentation system based on Oracle running in the AIX Unix environment for the last 4 years. I've decided to pursue Oracle certification (OCP) and have a few questions for the membership:

1. Would I be better off to do my training with a Linux (Suse 8.2)based installation of Oracle or a Windows 2000 based installation?

2. What texts would you recommend for study? I've read both pro and con about the texts published by Oracle.

3. How much memory does the Enterprise version of Oracle require in a) Linux and b) Windows for fast efficient operation?

4. Is a 2.4 GB P4 (non HT)adequate for the task in either operating system.

Thanks in advance for any and all advice!!!
    Regards
    Miles

Re: Which Operating System

Welcome to the forum Miles..
    Originally posted by milesc3
    1. Would I be better off to do my training with a Linux (Suse 8.2)based installation of Oracle or a Windows 2000 based installation?
    It doesn't matter which OS do you use for Installing and Practising Oracle. OCP exams do not have any OS specific questions in general. Install on any OS you love and practise.

2. What texts would you recommend for study? I've read both pro and con about the texts published by Oracle.
    I would recommend Oracle Documentation and ILT manuals if you can get it otherwise refer to Sybex or Oracle Press books.

3. How much memory does the Enterprise version of Oracle require in a) Linux and b) Windows for fast efficient operation?

You can install even on 128M PC but if you have more RAM better.

4. Is a 2.4 GB P4 (non HT)adequate for the task in either operating system.
    More than enough.

Have fun with Oracle..
    Sanjay G.