create database command
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: create database command

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18

    create database command

    Hi

    1. I am trying to create a new database in Oracle9i(9.2.0.1.0)
    on Windows 2000.

    2. I copied one of the existing Init.Ora files and
    made some chanes like
    instance_name,db_name,control_files etc.

    3. Next, I logged in as :
    / as sysdba

    4. I had to shutdown the existing database

    5. Using new init.ora file,

    SQL> startup nomount pfile='e:\oracle\admin........int.ora'
    got the message as INSTANCE STARTED

    6. But when I run the Create Database Command , I got the
    following error
    ora-01092: Oracle Instance terminated, Disconnection forced

    Any help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thank in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    lets have the full create database statements please

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    148
    Check your INITxxx.ora file to ensure you don't have your rollback_segments defined... They don't exists at this point and if
    defined in the INITxxx.ora, you may get a forced disconnect.

    Also check the error in the alter log....

    Gregg

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18
    here is the text of create database command

    create database "kris"
    controlfile reuse
    logfile group 1('e:\oracle\oradata\kris\redo1.log') size 5m reuse,
    group 2('e:\oracle\oradata\kris\redo2.log') size 5m reuse
    datafile 'e:\oracle\oradata\kris\system01.dbf' size 600m
    undo tablespace undotbs1;

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18
    there are no Rollback segments defined in the Init.ora file

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18
    I have not created any Password file at this stage.
    Is it required????????????

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by mohanknm
    I have not created any Password file at this stage.
    Is it required????????????
    Required If remote_login_passwordfile=EXCLUSIVE in init.ora.

    If u wist not to create PWD file at the stage of DB creation, then make the remote_login_passwordfile=NONE
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18
    I changed the parameter to remote_login_passwordfile=None

    another point that I want to share is:

    I am able to start the instance and when I write the
    following query


    SQL> select instance_name from v$instance;
    orcl

    The output is previous instance, instead of the instance
    name that i specified in init.ora file.
    don't know , why????????????

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    RTM
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width