ora-01113 ora-01110
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ora-01113 ora-01110

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    4

    ora-01113 ora-01110

    Hi,

    We have a job scheduled to shutdown database and take the cold backup of our database every sunday. Yesterday due to some reason, the backup kicked off every hour.(Database is in NOARCHIVE LOG MODE)

    At 8pm the backup completed and I started the database, and then restarted the windows box.

    After the restart, the database did not come up and when I tried to start the db, I got the following error message:

    ORA-01113: file 13 needs media recovery
    ORA-01110: data file 13: 'F:\dbfiles3\prod61\scpodata3.dbf'

    As taking the backup again and trying to issue a recover database would take more time (was pressed for time), I just restored from my earlier cold back and brought back the db up.

    Now- Theoritically what went wrong:
    1) Why did I start getting Ora-01113/01110
    2) Given that I am on Noarchivelog mode, could I have just issued 'recover database' to recover from this error.

    Please advise;
    Nagarajan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    148
    You could have tried the "alter database recover". It would have
    at least tried to read thru the redos and possibly had enough there
    to do the recovery that you needed to get the database up.

    Gregg

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    409

    Re: ora-01113 ora-01110

    Originally posted by bnagaraj
    1) Why did I start getting Ora-01113/01110
    One possibility is You may have restarted your database without waiting for the O/S backup process of DBF files to get complete.
    -- Dilip

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    4
    "One possibility is You may have restarted your database without waiting for the O/S backup process of DBF files to get complete."

    What do you actually mean by 'restarted your database without waiting for the o/s backup process of dbf files to complete.

    I had restarted the database and then -restarted the box-.

    This started after restarting the box.

    Nagaraj

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    409
    When you say you restarted the 'BOX', was the database shutdown clean? Sometimes back, I tested trying to do copy the DBF files while the database was open, and tried doing a normal shutdown. It was taking a long time so I did shutdown abort. And when I tried to startup, I got the errors you pointed out.

    So my guess is, When you restarted your 'BOX', some of your scripts might have been copying your DBF files and the database was still open. The shutdown may not be proper. Did you check your alert log file? Does it say more?
    -- Dilip

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    642
    There is always a better way to do the things.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, USA
    Posts
    330
    Did you check the alert log.
    Are you sure database did clean shutdown before backup started?.
    might have waited for the job to complete...and this kind of case backup is no good.

    to overcome this kind of issuses...(Ofcourse Big brains won't agree)
    make shutdown script like below..

    setenv ORACLE_SID $ORACLE_SID
    $ORACLE_HOME/bin/svrmgrl < connect internal
    shutdown abort
    startup restrict
    shutdown
    #startup mount
    EOF

    you are fine.
    Thanks.
    Thanigaivasan.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    i faced that issue too... below is what i did .. i read that from metalink


    alter database datafile name offline;
    recover tablespace name;
    alter tablespace name online;
    alter database datafile name online;

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736

    Re: ora-01113 ora-01110

    Originally posted by bnagaraj
    Hi,

    Yesterday due to some reason, the backup kicked off every hour.(Database is in NOARCHIVE LOG MODE)

    Nagarajan
    Did u find out why the cold backup was kicked off what is the reason? I suspect that OS couldn't copy some of your datafiles.May be this is a I/O error.Recovery is little bit tricky since the database is in Noarchive mode.It is glad that u had a cold backup.Otherwise in this scenario u could have lost some of information while recovering from that datafile.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width