Taking up too much resources
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Taking up too much resources

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    243

    Taking up too much resources

    Hi,

    I'm running DB 8.1.7 on Windows and Oracle.exe process is taking 99% CPU usage. What is going on? I can't do anything on OS...it's frozen, what's wrong with this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    3,997
    Have you looked to see if Oracle has enough memory in which to operate? Have you looked at the alert file? Post the last 100 lines of the alert file and maybe someone will see something.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    642
    It might be worth to check the session using the CPU

    select ss.sid,se.command,ss.value cpu ,se.username,se.program
    from v$sesstat ss, v$session se
    where ss.statistic# in
    (select statistic#
    from v$statname
    where name = 'CPU used by this session')
    and se.sid=ss.sid
    and ss.sid>6 -- No statistics are kept for background processes [BUG:1158628]
    order by ss.sid


    This might help

    Badrinath
    There is always a better way to do the things.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    642
    There is always a better way to do the things.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, USA
    Posts
    330
    check /usr/ucb/ps -aux for the %CPU used?.
    Thanks.
    Thanigaivasan.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, USA
    Posts
    330
    My bad..
    That is on UNIX...
    Thanigaivasan.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width