RMAN-Recover Failure - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: RMAN-Recover Failure

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tehran/Iran
    Posts
    94
    I run the two sctipts from $ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/admin/catalog.sql and catproc.sql
    followed by logging to rcat database and creating rman user etc.

    //hamhey

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    What i want to know is ,did u clearly understand what exactly Amar has told u?.I think u are missing some thing here.He told u to create a seperate database itself exclusively to hold the catalog.Then what u have done?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tehran/Iran
    Posts
    94
    According to the documentation I just the two script from
    $ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/admin/catalog.sql and catproc.sql
    to create the recovery catalog and then started to create the rman user and etc. ...

    //Hamhey

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tehran/Iran
    Posts
    94
    If you follow the replies earlier:
    I did create the rman user on my a tablespace
    in the target database and I got problem when restoring the system tablespace. What Amar suggested me was that to create the user in the rcat database with predefind tablespace and referred to a otn documentation. I restored the database from before I began creating user and catalog and did just as documentation says:

    According to the documentation I just the two script from
    $ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/admin/catalog.sql and catproc.sql
    to create the recovery catalog and then started to create the rman user and etc. ...

    Any idea what is wrong

    //Hamhey
    Last edited by hamhey; 06-01-2003 at 07:11 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    U totally missed what the manual says.A datbase creation is successful once u follow all the steps required for creating a database like
    1.Creating a parameter file like initrcat.ora.
    2.Creating a service for the new database.
    3.Connecting to instance.
    4.running a script which will create all the necessary files a database.
    But u didn't created a seperate database to house the rcat.This is what Amar said.Once u will create a seperate database for it then run catproc.sql and catalog.sql. create the rman user and the catalog.Now register the database whose information u want to be stored in this catalog.
    Last edited by akhadar; 06-01-2003 at 08:06 AM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tehran/Iran
    Posts
    94
    Isn't that the scitpts catproc.sql and catalog,sql
    create the database. This was according to the documentation.

    //Hamhey

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    Go through my edited portion

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tehran/Iran
    Posts
    94
    I'm I am not following you what edited portion u mean.

    //Hamhey

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    check this

    U totally missed what the manual says.A database creation is successful once u follow all the steps required for creating a database like
    1.Creating a parameter file like initrcat.ora.
    2.Creating a service for the new database.
    3.Connecting to instance.
    4.running a script which will create all the necessary files a database.
    But u didn't created a seperate database to house the rcat.This is what Amar said.Once u will create a seperate database for it then run catproc.sql and catalog.sql. create the rman user and the catalog.Now register the database whose information u want to be stored in this catalog.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    467
    You ran catproc and catalog.sql on your target database. You also created the rman user/tablespace on your target database and not catalog DB.
    I think akhadar and amar are quite clear in terms of what you need to do. Reading the manual will help too.
    Well here's what you can try - first shutdown your target database and bring it up only when you need to register it with the catalog. That way you could avoid the confusion.
    Vinit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width