RMAN-Recover Failure
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: RMAN-Recover Failure

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tehran/Iran
    Posts
    94

    RMAN-Recover Failure

    Hi all,
    I'm testing rman on a server to put the server in production. My problem is when you have got media failure on system datafile and consequently the system tablespace.

    The problem is:
    when simulating removing the system data file from the disk after taking a level-0 backup. The ramn is not able to connect the target database catalog (when database is down) because the server can not be mounted and I got the following error message:
    Recovery Manager: Release 8.1.5.0.0 - Production

    RMAN-06005: connected to target database: SOLDB (DBID=2945300576)
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00554: initialization of internal recovery manager package failed
    RMAN-04004: error from recovery catalog database: ORA-01033: ORACLE initialization or shutdown in progress


    The problem exists, without opening the database you are not able to connect to database catalog.
    And with system datafile missing you cannot open the database from another interface like sqlplus.

    Do you how to handle the situation.

    Regards
    Hamhey

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Repeat after me

    "RMAN catalog database should always be different from the target database"
    "RMAN catalog database should always be different from the target database"
    "RMAN catalog database should always be different from the target database"
    "RMAN catalog database should always be different from the target database"
    "RMAN catalog database should always be different from the target database"
    "RMAN catalog database should always be different from the target database"
    "RMAN catalog database should always be different from the target database"

    Now does that make sense.
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tehran/Iran
    Posts
    94
    Thanks a lot,
    Would you tell me how to create another database in the same machine. You mean another instance in the the same machine maybe.
    I create catalog like the following. Would you correct me where in the instructions is wrong:
    1. Create tablespace rman_ts ,20 MB
    2. create user rman_dba and rman_ts as default tablespace
    3. grant connect, resource, recover_..owner to rman_dba
    4. create catalog tablespace rman
    5. register databse.

    Would you tell me what is wrong and how to create another database for catalog.

    Thanks
    Hamhey

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Create a new database the same way you created the existing database.

    You should keep the RMAN database in a different machine altogether. So in case the PROD machine goes down you still have the RMAN to recover your DB. If they are on the same machine then if machine goes down your DB as well as the RMAN goes down.

    In the 5th step after creating the catalog connect to remote target database and then register.

    RMAN> connect target sys/password@remote.world catalog rman/rman@rcat
    RMAN> register database.

    For more details Read

    http://download-west.oracle.com/docs...a76990/toc.htm

    HTH
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tehran/Iran
    Posts
    94
    Thanks a alot Amar for the info.
    Unfortunately I dont user and password to the page you refering. Would you mind sending me an attachment to the following email:
    h.heydarzadeh@dpiran.net

    Thanks in advance
    Hamhey

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Registration is free. Do it and you will have access to all Oracle Documents. Go to www.oracle.com and get registered.
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tehran/Iran
    Posts
    94
    Everythings seems just fine except when logging to the rcat database. Creating user rman and the default tablespace rcvcat failed. It seems I stil being connected to the target database instead of rcat database (using: sqlplus /nolog@rcat and then connect / as sysdba ).
    I think I was connected to the target database instead.
    Do you know how to fix it. And is there any way to check what database you've connected to before issueing the command create user rman ...

    //Hamhey

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    Either u can use connecting string for rcat while connecting as sysdba or use
    Set sid=rcat
    then /as sysdba

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tehran/Iran
    Posts
    94
    I think something is wrong. Connecting to rman catalog database getting error message that the database is not open. starting the rcat database resulting in error message that the pfile initRCAT.ora is missing.
    Any idea.

    //Hamhey

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    How did u created the catalog database?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width