oracle 9i database creation
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: oracle 9i database creation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    chennai
    Posts
    69

    oracle 9i database creation

    hello

    i am trying to create a oracle 9i database in windows NT environment using the command line interface.

    there is already a database availabe with a different instance name and a different database name. the service for that instance is running. i ve created a new instance and then trying to create the database by running the CREATE DATABASE command.

    the database creation fails with the following error message

    instance terminated . Disconnection forced.

    even when i stop the other service and try to create the database , iam getting the same error.
    what is the reason for this. can any one help me . its very urgent.
    thanks in advance

    regards

    rswamin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    409
    Any additional errors/information you see in Alert log? Check if your creation script conflicts with existing files.
    -- Dilip

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    chennai
    Posts
    69
    hello

    iam not getting any error details in the alert file.

    also there is no clash with the existing files , which i ve checked.

    can there be any other reason.

    rswamin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    WinNT requires service pack 6a and above. You have that ? A long shot.
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    75
    create db with 9i on nt, it is better using DBCA.
    Still learning

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    Originally posted by DeltaFun
    create db with 9i on nt, it is better using DBCA.
    uh uh, no way, it you wanna a crash and burn box fine,

    the dbca creates all kinds of locked accounts that become security threats unto them selves, try and drop those users and you'll end up with much invalid objects, do it the old fashioned way and you'll be better off
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    409
    I would say DBCA would be a better option. Try it, if it works, then he can compare his scripts, make changes as per his liking. In anycase, he is just trying a Test Database. So let him try all possible options.
    -- Dilip

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    642
    Apply the latest patch set and I would say create the db using the scripts. It might not be easy the first time but the subsequent times- it makes the job much simpler.

    MY way go with the scripts

    Badrinath
    There is always a better way to do the things.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,591
    Why? What's wrong with dbca?

    The user acounts can be unlocked before you activate your database.
    You wanna drop them , do it thru oem.

    DBCA is a fairly good tool to create the database. Unless you're preparing for an interview.
    Tarry Singh
    I'm a JOLE(JavaOracleLinuxEnthusiast)
    TarryBlogging
    --- Everything was meant to be---

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    642
    Well the views differ-:

    Why create something that you don't use and undo because you got something that was simple. You don't have to know the things just because you want to 'bag' a job but to retain the job as well.

    DBCA is a great tool to use but again while working it will nice to know which scripts are necessary and what each part of the dbca is doing.

    Using the scripts can preserve your work and helps you redo the things quickly (and ofcourse simple too)
    There is always a better way to do the things.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width