RMAN restore
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: RMAN restore

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    46

    RMAN restore

    I check my backup full and RMAN shows me that is correct

    RMAN-08502: set_count=26 set_stamp=495201800 creation_time=28-MAY-03
    RMAN-08023: channel t1: restored backup piece 1
    RMAN-08511: piece handle=Backup_full_DATABASE_26_1 tag=null params=NULL
    RMAN-08098: channel t1: validation complete


    But when I try to restore controlfile or database It says
    the backup is not valid

    RMAN-03002: failure during compilation of command
    RMAN-03013: command type: restore
    RMAN-03002: failure during compilation of command
    RMAN-03013: command type: IRESTORE
    RMAN-06026: some targets not found - aborting restore
    RMAN-06024: no backup or copy of the controlfile found to restore

    How to specified during restore the name
    of piece handle = 'Backup_full_DATABASE_26_1'
    something like that
    run {
    allocate channel t1 type 'SBT_TAPE'
    parms 'ENV=(NSR_SERVER=toto.com,NSR_DATA_VOLUME_POOL=Default)';
    restore controlfile;
    release channel t1;
    }
    yt

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    335
    Post output of following:

    >rman

    list backup of controlfile;
    One, who thinks that the other one who thinks that know and does not know, does not know either!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    46
    RMAN> list backup of controlfile;

    List of Backup Sets
    Key Recid Stamp LV Set Stamp Set Count Completion Time
    ------- ---------- ---------- -- ---------- ---------- ----------------------
    1610 21 495202466 0 495201800 26 28-MAY-03

    List of Backup Pieces
    Key Pc# Cp# Status Completion Time Piece Name
    ------- --- --- ----------- ---------------------- ------------------------
    1611 1 1 AVAILABLE 28-MAY-03 Backup_full_DATABASE_26_1

    Controlfile Included
    Ckp SCN Ckp time
    ---------- ---------------
    3231838458144 28-MAY-03
    yt

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    335
    Confirm that prior to restore:

    Instance is started , but database is not mounted.
    You connect to the catalog database and target instance.
    You backup set is accessible for the restore job.

    Where is you backup stored?
    One, who thinks that the other one who thinks that know and does not know, does not know either!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    46
    My database is nomount and i want to restore controlfile
    my backup is store in a tape.
    When I connect to RMAN and my terget database I run this :

    run {
    allocate channel t1 type 'sbt_tape'
    parms 'ENV=(NSR_SERVER=toto.com,NSR_DATA_VOLUME_POOL=Default)';
    restore controlfile;
    release channel t1;
    }
    yt

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    335
    I know it sounds simplistic, but is there any way to make sure that "the tape" has "the file"?
    One, who thinks that the other one who thinks that know and does not know, does not know either!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width