tables parameter in export utility
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: tables parameter in export utility

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6

    tables parameter in export utility

    Hi

    The setup here is Oracle 8.1.5/Solaris 2.7. I'm trying to export a db user that has around 400 tables. However, there are 5 very large (unpartitioned) tables that I don't need - containing auditing data. Is there any way of excluding only these tables from the export?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    The only way you can do that is to create a table list with all the table names except those 5
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    http://metalink.oracle.com/metalink/...&p_id=162914.1 for 8i

    there is also another not so good way for 7 and 8 (or even 8i), you have to edit catexp.sql (making a backup), modify CREATE VIEW exu81tabs by adding and o$.name not in (blah blah your excluded tables here) once done restore your original catexp.sql

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Another option,

    1. move those big tables to a seperate tablespace,
    2. make the tablespace offline
    3. export full database.

    Cheers
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    Or move those tables to another schema, and export by user.
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    ein, how do you move tables to another user isnt that export import... CTAS drop

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    or take the database to a quack and sacrifice 101 developers...

    this is the bestest method. MH will be happy
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Originally posted by pando
    ein, how do you move tables to another user isnt that export import... CTAS drop
    or CTAD (Create table and drop)
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    Originally posted by pando
    ein, how do you move tables to another user isnt that export import... CTAS drop
    Yes but it would be a one off operation, once the tables had been moved it means he could perform a user export of the remaining tables with the minimum of fuss at any time.
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    but thass extra time, probably to move 4 tables takes hours :-0

    also how about the referential integrity....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width