dictionary managed tablespaces in 9i
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: dictionary managed tablespaces in 9i

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    64

    dictionary managed tablespaces in 9i

    Is it possible to create dictionary managed tablespaces in 9i and if it is how?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    64
    SQL> create tablespace RBS
    2 DATAFILE '/u02/oradata/O8I5A/rbs01.dbf' SIZE 482344960
    3 EXTENT MANAGEMENT DICTIONARY
    4 DEFAULT STORAGE (
    5 INITIAL 131072
    6 NEXT 131072
    7 MINEXTENTS 20
    8 MAXEXTENTS 4096
    9 PCTINCREASE 0);
    create tablespace RBS
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-12913: Cannot create dictionary managed tablespace

    what is wrong???

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    your system TS is locally managed
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    If your SYSTEM tablespace is created as LMT (the default, seems to be the case in your situation too) then all other tablespaces must be LMTs too.

    So if you want to create a dictionary managed tablespace (why?????) in 9i, you must have your SYSTEM tablespace created as DMT at database creation time.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    64
    because i am trying to import 8.1.5 database with dictionary managed tablespaces and i have problems importing.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Did you create the tablespaces or you trying to import the full database and want the import to create the tablespaces for you ??

    In that case create the tablespaces manually before doing the import and then run the Full import. You can very well import from a database having DMT to a database having LMT.

    HTH
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Can you be more specific? What kind of problems?

    The only possible problems that I can see with this is if you are performing full import (from full export) and want the imp process to create the tablespaces too. In this case, all you have to do is to manualy create those tablespaces (asl LMT) before you start the import. That should realy be no problem.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width