Oracle 9i Default location for init.ora
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Oracle 9i Default location for init.ora

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    14

    Oracle 9i Default location for init.ora

    What is Oracle 9i Default location for “init.ora” ? and what is the default name for it?

    Thanks

    ALF

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    295
    Isn't it same as before?
    $ORACLE_HOME/dbs on Unix?
    On Windows, it is $ORACLE_HOME\database

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Since this is first post on this Forum, i'll answer it.

    Default $ORACLE_BASE/admin or where ever you have mentioned your admin folder while creating the database.

    And do read...

    http://www.dbasupport.com/forums/sho...threadid=36219

    HTH
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    295
    default name is:
    initSID.ora or spfileSID.ora

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    14
    I found only spfile.ora and I couldn't read or change it.

    I'm not familiar oracle 9i on Win XPP yet and I need to update the parameter file.

    ALF

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    295
    You can create pfile if your database was started up by spfile:

    create pfile from spfile;

    After you have a pfile, you can edit it and modify as
    you wish and startup your database:
    startup pfile=...

    Of course, you can create spfile too:
    create spfile from pfile;

    You can also modify parameter stored in spfile by:
    alter system set xxx=yyy scope=spfile;

    On window 2K, you can edit most
    of parameters directly though it is not suuported by
    Oracle because spfile is binary.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    152
    spfile default loc is $ORACLE_HOME/dbs/sidspfile.ora

    startup pfile='wherever you put it'

    create spfile from pfile < puts in default loc >

    then next time just do

    startup

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    14

    SPFILE

    Thanks all for the help. Now I know what SPFILE is.

    Alf

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width