RMAN script for RAC backup
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: RMAN script for RAC backup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    226

    RMAN script for RAC backup

    Gurus

    Can someone point me to where I can obtain a RMAN script to backup
    a Oracle 9.0.1 RAC system running on windows 2000 with database
    files on RAW drives. I can't find any from metalink.

    Thanks,

    Roukie

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Pardon me for my RAC ignorance, but why would an RMAN backup be any different for a two-node instance than a single node instance?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    226
    Jeff

    That's what I don't understand myself, hence my name - ROUKIE_DBA!!! So you mean a single-node RMAN would work just fine too...perhaps with some minor mods, right?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    152
    Originally posted by marist89
    Pardon me for my RAC ignorance, but why would an RMAN backup be any different for a two-node instance than a single node instance?
    I agree, its just one Database ( files ) that are being serviced by multiple boxes with memory and cpu's.....

    Every box sees the whole Database...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    Riddle me this, how many sets of archive logs are there in a 2 node
    cluster?

    here is what an rman script looks like for archive logs

    run
    {
    allocate channel c1 type disk connect sys/pwd@db1;
    allocate channel c2 type disk connect sys/pwd@db2;
    backup
    (archivelog like 'e:\oracle\backups\arch_log%' delete input channel c1)
    (archivelog like 'e:\oracle\backups\arch_log%' delete input channel c2)
    }


    also you have things like node affinity and crap like that but the most noticeable differnce I have seen is backuping up multiple sets of arch logs

    roukie give it the ol'college try and search metalink for 'ops rman' or 'racrman' and of course look at the docs for rac. If you get stuck i'll email you the scripts I have used for rac and ops before.



    steve
    Last edited by stmontgo; 05-17-2003 at 09:39 AM.
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by stmontgo
    Riddle me this, how many sets of archive logs are there in a 2 node
    cluster?

    here is what an rman script looks like for archive logs

    run
    {
    allocate channel c1 type disk connect sys/pwd@db1;
    allocate channel c2 type disk connect sys/pwd@db2;
    backup
    (archivelog like 'e:\oracle\backups\arch_log%' delete input channel c1)
    (archivelog like 'e:\oracle\backups\arch_log%' delete input channel c2)
    }


    also you have things like node affinity and crap like that but the most noticeable differnce I have seen is backuping up multiple sets of arch logs

    roukie give it the ol'college try and search metalink for 'ops rman' or 'racrman' and of course look at the docs for rac. If you get stuck i'll email you the scripts I have used for rac and ops before.



    steve
    Why have you allocated two channels? You backup to only one disk drive.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g,12c
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    each instance has it's own set of archive logs,
    allocating the channel tells us to connect to instance X on channel X
    and then backup those particular logs
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    In our environment we use OFS and backup is managed by VERITAS i.e at a time only one node will have access to the shared resources.on both the nodes u have your backup scripts and what ever the node is active it will take care of the backup.Here is the sample RMAN script.

    RUN {
    echo ALLOCATE CHANNEL "ch00" TYPE 'SBT_TAPE' %ALLOC1%;
    echo ALLOCATE CHANNEL "ch01" TYPE 'SBT_TAPE' %ALLOC1%;
    echo BACKUP
    echo %BACKUP_TYPE%
    echo FORMAT 'bk_u%%u_s%%s_p%%p_t%%t'
    echo DATABASE;
    echo RELEASE CHANNEL "ch00";
    echo RELEASE CHANNEL "ch01";
    echo # Backup all archive logs
    echo ALLOCATE CHANNEL "ch00" TYPE 'SBT_TAPE' %ALLOC1%;
    echo sql 'alter system archive log current';
    echo BACKUP
    echo FILESPERSET 150
    echo FORMAT 'arch-s%%s-p%%p'
    echo ARCHIVELOG ALL %DELETE_STR%;
    echo RELEASE CHANNEL "ch00";

    }

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width