Hot Swap
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Hot Swap

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    31

    Hot Swap

    Can we Hot Swap a drive when the Database is UP and running?

    Database is in Archivelog mode

    If so how can we hot swap a drive which is mirrored what steps we need to follow

    Thanks,
    sanga

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092

    Re: Hot Swap

    Originally posted by sanga
    Can we Hot Swap a drive when the Database is UP and running?

    Database is in Archivelog mode

    If so how can we hot swap a drive which is mirrored what steps we need to follow

    Thanks,
    On a protected device, sure. If your device is RAID 1, 0+1, or 5, you can replace disks on the fly with no problem. The steps vary according to your OS and volume manager software, but in general they are:
    1. pull out old disk
    2. put in new disk
    3. tell your volume manager to resync the disk.

    If you have hot spares defined, things will be a little different because you essentially have to do the whole process twice.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    31
    Hi marist,

    Thanks for the reply

    This is what happened a few days ago.

    One of our unix Guy Hot swapped a drive and we started experiencing problems like corruption in the database.

    Iam sure the disks are mirrored, but one of the database had datafiles on the same volumne and was down and was not affected, but all the datafiles, control files got corrupted and we had to perform PIT database recovery on all databases on that volume, except for the one in which was down.

    Do we need to take any precaution in future when we hot swap a drive at the database end so that is does not occur again

    We are using Solaris and Veritas volume manager

    Thanks again
    sanga

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Are you saying that all other filesystems had corrupt files except for the filesystem that had a bad disk?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    31
    No the one which had a Bad disk had corruption
    sanga

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Hmmm. Never saw that with Veritas and Solaris. Maybe your disks are RAID 0?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    31
    Can we put the tablespace in Backup mode,Hot swap and put the tablespace in Normal mode would that be helpfull

    Thanks
    sanga

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by sanga
    Can we put the tablespace in Backup mode,Hot swap and put the tablespace in Normal mode would that be helpfull

    Thanks
    Why would that help?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    31
    Iam not sure Just a thought crossed my mind

    Thanks
    sanga

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    That was a wrong thought that crossed your mind.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width