Doubt on RMAN Recovery - Page 3
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33

Thread: Doubt on RMAN Recovery

  1. #21
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    14
    Hi dora,

    Because we see this word RTFM often here, we can't say this is correct.

    I accept everything as u said. This is excellent forum. They are all very knowledgeble people in Oralce.

    My only point is why can't they use RTM instead of RTFM

    Cool

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    What's wrong with RTFM; Read The Friendly Manual? Why don't you put your energy into learning instead of whining about how you think you should be treated.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #23
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    14
    Hi jeff,

    Thanks for your reply.

    So today onwards

    RTFM means Read the Friendly Manual. Thanks for ur suggestion.

    Cool

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Originally posted by coolboy
    So today onwards RTFM means Read the Friendly Manual.
    . . . et lux erat

    (Of course irony might be wasted on some people . . .)
    "The power of instruction is seldom of much efficacy except in those happy dispositions where it is almost superfluous" - Gibbon, quoted by R.P.Feynman

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Originally posted by coolboy
    Hi jeff,

    Sorry to disturb u again

    suppose sunday I took one backup.

    Again wednesday I took another one.

    Later I came to know I had some problem with wednesday backup

    In this case I want to restore it from sunday backup.

    How is it possible with RMAN?

    Cool

    Coolboy: Your question is really valid. But better don't get into the trap of argument.

    Check it out this.

    1. First ensure that your backup is taken with a tag every day. example

    Backup 1
    Backup database format '/ora1/RMANBKUP/full_db_old_%d_%s_%p' tag = 'old';

    Backup 2
    Backup database format '/ora1/RMANBKUP/full_db_new_%d_%s_%p' tag = 'new';

    2. While restoring mention the unique tag to identify the backup set which you are refering. example
    RMAN> run
    {
    sql "alter session set nls_date_format=''MON DD YY HH24:MI:SS''";
    sql "alter session set nls_language=american";
    set until time 'JULY 19 01 17:58:45';
    allocate channel recodb1 type disk;
    restore controlfile;
    restore database from tag = 'old';
    alter database mount;
    recover database;
    release channel recodb1;
    }

    Will restore from the 'old' backup and the latest backup is 'new'.

    Version tested: oracle 9i (9.2.0)

    I think this will solve your doubt.

    Note: RTFM is applicable to everybody. ....


    Regards

    Thomas
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    Originally posted by DaPi
    Hey coolboy, suggest you live up to your name and stay cool.
    Read this http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
    and then perhaps appologise?
    That's a good link Dapi. Worth reading.
    Thanks.
    Sanjay G.
    Oracle Certified Professional 8i, 9i.

    "The degree of normality in a database is inversely proportional to that of its DBA"

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by Thomasps

    RMAN> run
    {
    sql "alter session set nls_date_format=''MON DD YY HH24:MI:SS''";
    sql "alter session set nls_language=american";
    set until time 'JULY 19 01 17:58:45';
    allocate channel recodb1 type disk;
    restore controlfile;
    restore database from tag = 'old';
    alter database mount;
    recover database;
    release channel recodb1;
    }
    Why do you allocate the channels if you use 9.2.0?
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Julian,

    Thanks.
    True.. No need for the channels.. My concentration was in the original question..

    However, If I want to take the backup "not in the default" (rman: show all) location , need to define the channels.


    Regards
    Thomas
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  9. #29
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    14
    Hi Thomasps,

    Thanks for your reply!

    Ya, I got the point now.

    Thanks again


    Hi pinky,

    Don't spoil this forum. Try to change.



    Cool

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    152

    Read The Furnished Manual

    Nothing wrong with Furnished or F*****

    What is wrong is growing up on gaming forums then coming in here and stating over and over again that everyone here should 'Do this and Do that' to suit your sensibilities.

    Respect is a 2-way street, you wont get any this way.

    They are telling you to ask 'intelligent questions'.

    Meaning before I post I try to read the pertinent manuals and put into my question what I think the answer might be or what I find conflicting about the info in the Furnished Manual.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width