string beginning "c:\Data_Mi..." is too long. maximum size is 79 characters.
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: string beginning "c:\Data_Mi..." is too long. maximum size is 79 characters.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    182

    Angry string beginning "c:\Data_Mi..." is too long. maximum size is 79 characters.

    I am attempting to run scripts with paths that are longer than 79 characters and getting errors.

    Is there any way around this?
    With WIN2k I am not able to use the "@@" inside a file-path to solve the problem (like "@@\scripts\script.sql).

    my path line currently looks something like this:
    @D:\Data_Migration\Project\Name\Hardware\hard_metal_hammers\load_ballpean.sql


    then I get the error:
    string beginning "c:\Data_Mi..." is too long. maximum size is 79 characters.

    Any suggestions or am I screwed.

    thanks.
    - Cookies

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Set your SQLPATH to include your directory.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    182
    This could be a possible solution.

    I was looking up the DOCS on this.
    However, these are migration scripts that I want to automatically call at any given timeframe.

    Going into the registry to edit the SQLPATH seems a bit excessive and not really possible.

    in NT you could just specify the path further down the path you were already on.

    ie: c:\test\test.sql reads "@@test2\test.sql"
    which would call that next script residing in c:\test\test2\test.sql

    Somewhere between NT and 2k something went wrong.
    I am pretty sure I can do things like this in UNIX (if I remember correctly).

    How many SQLPATHs in the registry can I make?
    I am assuming only one.
    - Cookies

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by Cookies
    This could be a possible solution.

    I was looking up the DOCS on this.
    However, these are migration scripts that I want to automatically call at any given timeframe.

    Going into the registry to edit the SQLPATH seems a bit excessive and not really possible.

    To quote Ron Popiel; "Set it, and Forget it!". You set it once on your machine and it's always set.

    in NT you could just specify the path further down the path you were already on.

    ie: c:\test\test.sql reads "@@test2\test.sql"
    which would call that next script residing in c:\test\test2\test.sql

    sounds like kluge waiting to happen...


    How many SQLPATHs in the registry can I make?
    I am assuming only one.
    definitely more than one directory in your SQLPATH statement. There's probably a limit, but one or two directories shouldn't blow it out.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    182
    If only I knew what a Kluge was ...

    Thanks for the help.
    I set it, it works, and everyone is happy.
    I didn't realize that the current default Path for SQLPATH was inconsequential and not really needed.

    - Cookies

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    182
    Originally posted by MARIST
    This could be a possible solution.
    in NT you could just specify the path further down the path you were already on.
    ie: c:\test\test.sql reads "@@test2\test.sql"
    which would call that next script residing in c:\test\test2\test.sql


    sounds like kluge waiting to happen...
    Well, now I can take offense

    At least NOW I am not 'Kluging'.

    BTW - I can set multiple SQLPATHs just by seperating with a semi-colon? Did I read that correctly?
    - Cookies

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Kludge=bad

    Using the features of the software to get the job done=priceless (ok, maybe not priceless, but better than a kludge).

    Yes, you can put multiple directories in your SQLPATH by seperating with a ":" or ";" depending on your OS.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width