relocate redo logfiles
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: relocate redo logfiles

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    10

    relocate redo logfiles

    Hello,

    Does anybody know how I move my redo logfiles from one harddisk to another? Is there a statement or do I have to rebuild my database/controlfile?

    Thanks in advance,

    Jean-Paul

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    do yourself a favour, go to tahiti.oracle.com, read administrator guide, the chapter that says "MANAGE REDO LOGS"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    10
    Thanks. Couldn't find the guide that quick but search for manage redo log brought me here:

    http://www.samoratech.com/OraAdmin/swmanageredo.htm

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    176
    Hi

    Shutdown the database

    Copy the file to the new location

    Startup mount

    Alter database rename file 'old path' to 'new path';

    Alter datbase open;

    Query the V$logfile

    Seelan
    Success Consists of Getting Up Just One More Time Than You've Fallen Down
    Be Blessed

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    Originally posted by Rohit
    Hi

    Shutdown the database

    Copy the file to the new location

    Startup mount

    Alter database rename file 'old path' to 'new path';

    Alter datbase open;

    Query the V$logfile
    This is a case study of how NOT to do it in a 24x7 environment.

    1. add new log files in your new location.
    2. switch logfile until you are using one of your new log files.
    3. drop the old log files.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas:TX:USA
    Posts
    407
    as Jeff already mentioed, the correct way is to -

    # create new logfiles
    # keep switching logfiles so that the old files are in Inactive status
    # drop old logfiles (and then remove from the OS)
    Rajeev Suri

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, USA
    Posts
    330
    first make sure the member you want to switch is in inactive..
    then drop the first member..
    alter database drop logfile member 'path'
    #reate member with new location...
    alter database add logfile member 'newpath' to group1
    switch logfile..
    alter system switch logfile...

    follow this to create log files in diff location...even DB is open.

    Thanks.
    Thanigaivasan.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width