Problem In Normal Shutdown
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Problem In Normal Shutdown

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    India
    Posts
    5

    Problem In Normal Shutdown

    hi,
    One process was running in Oracle, that process has been killed.Since it will take 3 to 4 hrs to rollback the whole data.
    I have shutdown the database with shutdown abort.
    Then I brought it up.Then I again given the same process, but found that physical reads is not increasing.So shutdown abort given again.
    And now when i am going for Normal or Immediate Shutdown, it is not taking place.Once Normal shutdown given , but it has not done after running for 8 hrs.
    There is nothing abnormal in the log file.In this case what shall i do???
    Last edited by dhiman_s; 05-02-2003 at 05:33 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434

    Re: Problem In Normal Shutdown

    Originally posted by dhiman_s
    hi,
    And now when i am going for Normal or Immediate Shutdown, it is not taking place.Once Normal shutdown given , but it has not done after running for 8 hrs.
    Do u mean now no processes are running (except backgroung)...and SHUTDOWN Normal or Immediate is not working?

    Or if that process(which u expect it wud take 3 to 4 hrs for rollback) is running and u give SHUTDOWN Normal..it took 8hrs time in vain doing nothing?
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    alter system checkpoint
    shutdown abort

    startup restrict

    do wehat you need to do here

    shutdown immediate

    startup

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    hi, i did a shutdown immediate.. and it told me that i cant as one of the datafiles is still being backup. what happens earlier is that one of my backup scripts failed, so i suspect that this is the first datafile that is being backuped. i cant rememebr the exact oracle errro number nor the text. something along the line like "cannot shutdown, one of the datafiles is still being in backup"

    can i do "alter database open 'datafile' end backup; "

    please advise

    and why i want to shutdown immeidate is to switch off the archive log
    1) shutdown immediate
    2) startup mount
    3) alter (..........)

    thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    Check from V$backup view which datafile is in backup mode.

    Then use ALTER DATABASE 'DATAFILE' END BACKUP; or

    IF it 9i then u can use
    ALTER DATABASE END BACKUP
    Which takes out all the datafiles from backupmode.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    i did a select * from v$backup and got a list of 109 ACTIVE status.

    1) this means that there are 109 ACTIVE backups to go?


    2) shutdown abort; will have serious consequences on the database?

    please advise

    thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    Originally posted by yls177
    i did a select * from v$backup and got a list of 109 ACTIVE status.

    1) this means that there are 109 ACTIVE backups to go?


    2) shutdown abort; will have serious consequences on the database?

    please advise

    thanks
    Oracle Version ?
    Are you using RMAN or OS Scripts for hot backup ?
    Does your hotbackup script backup many tablespaces parallaly ?

    You can prepare a quick script like this.
    Code:
    select 'alter tablespace '||tablespace_name||' end backup;'
    from dba_tablespaces;
    Sanjay G.
    Oracle Certified Professional 8i, 9i.

    "The degree of normality in a database is inversely proportional to that of its DBA"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    i am using unix scripts for my backup through tivoli. my oracle release is 8.0.6.3.0

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    RMAN does not do begin/end backup....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    thanks everyone, the problem has been resolved...
    by alter tablespace end backup

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width