oracle client on linux & db on nt
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: oracle client on linux & db on nt

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    110

    oracle client on linux & db on nt

    Hi all


    I have 2 databases servers both oracle 8i .
    Ora1 on WinNT
    Ora2 on Linux

    I am creating a connecttion from wint nt to Ora2(i.e linux db) via
    sql*plus tool . I am able to connect successfully. I have configured
    the tnsnames.ora with the appropriate service name for linux db server.

    Now i am trying to use the sqlplus utility of linux to connect to
    winnt database. I have configured
    the tnsnames.ora with the appropriate service name for winnt db server.

    But sqlplus of linux just doesnt seem to recognize the service name
    of winnt .
    error ora-12154 : Tns:could not resolve service name.

    i can ping the winnt machine from linux without any problems.

    Is there any configuration i have to make for using an oracle client
    application in linux & oracle db server on winnt. Why is not detecting
    the oracle db on winnt


    Regards
    Sushant

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    865

    Re: oracle client on linux & db on nt

    Originally posted by zulu99
    i can ping the winnt machine from linux without any problems.
    Are you able to tnsping successfully also ? Guess not! You may have to check your tnsnames.ora on the linux box.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    110

    client on linux

    Yes , tnsping also does not work.
    I have checked tnsnames.ora file in the linux box. It has a
    proper entry. i tried using sid=testdb instead of service name
    but to no vail

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    865
    compare the tnsnames.ora on the win box with that on the linux box and make necessary changes (see in bold below) in the later.

    TST.WORLD =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = sun101)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = tst)
    )
    )
    Check the docs for more info...Configuring the Local Naming Method

    http://download-west.oracle.com/docs...gcf.htm#448222

    HTH.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    110

    oracle client

    Hi


    name of nt box(ip:200.200.200.60) is utidbsvr & name of linux box is oralin(ip:200.200.200.81)


    from linux when i say
    ping utidbsvr (does not work)
    but ping 200.200.200.60 works


    from nt when i say

    ping oralin (does not work)
    but ping 200.200.200.81 works

    so i have corresponding ip adderess in the host part
    in tnsnames.ora

    Checked tnsnames.ora. seems to be fine , hope its not some
    problem because of conflicting os

    Regards
    Sushant

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    You should say tnsping tnsname to check wheather your tnsnames.ora file is okay
    Last edited by hrishy; 04-24-2003 at 08:21 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Also have a look at sqlnet.ora on the machine acting as client. If it contains something like
    NAMES.DEFAULT_DOMAIN = STUPID.CH
    then this is appended to a connection string if that does not explicitly include a domain (i.e. has a dot in it) before it is looked up in tnsnames.ora. Failure to find SID.STUPID.CH gives an ORA-12154 too.
    "The power of instruction is seldom of much efficacy except in those happy dispositions where it is almost superfluous" - Gibbon, quoted by R.P.Feynman

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    865

    Re: oracle client

    Originally posted by zulu99
    ...hope its not some problem because of conflicting os
    NO WAY!

    You can use the ip instead of the hostname in tnsnames.ora. That is okay.

    Have you checked your sqlnet.ora as DaPi says?

    BTW, you can check if you able to connect to db on linux using tnsnames.ora from the linux box itself.

    HTH.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142

    Re: Re: oracle client

    Originally posted by ggnanaraj
    you can check if you able to connect to db on linux using tnsnames.ora from the linux box itself.
    YES - guess that is the first thing we should have suggested!
    "The power of instruction is seldom of much efficacy except in those happy dispositions where it is almost superfluous" - Gibbon, quoted by R.P.Feynman

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    110

    oracle client on linux

    Hi

    I can connect without using the tnsname to the linux box from
    linux client but when i use the tnsname as host string , it fails
    & gives the tnsnames error

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width