Multiple Instances .. Listener Problem - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: Multiple Instances .. Listener Problem

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    78
    Yes I tried this I have started two instances with their corresponding pfiles. They are working fine at the server because I queried some dynamic view to check the datafiles and tablespace from server. Its working fine at the server the problem is same from the clients ... from all clients . I think When we are connecting from the server its bypassing the listener where as from client the listerner might giving problem ... SO ?????

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    163
    Hey,

    Will u please try with Local_listener=TRUE in your parameter file and change the default port to 2048?

    Thanks
    Nwcomer
    Student

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    Originally posted by akhadar
    can u check up both databases started with their own parameter files.Try once to startup with their own parameter files.Iam also getting doubt that your password file is corrupted due to some reason as it is not accepting the INSB system password.As lot of things are mixing up in your problem.Can u check these and what is the result.

    err, I dont understand why password file is involved here, it is only used when you connect remotely AS SYSDBA or SYSOPER but I dont see anyone here is using those two options when connecting?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Originally posted by newcomer
    Hey,

    Will u please try with Local_listener=TRUE in your parameter file and change the default port to 2048?

    Thanks
    Never heard of LOCAL_LISTENER=true, where did you find that ??

    Its LOCAL_LISTENER=listener_alias and is used when you want PMON to register with a local listener that does not use TCP/IP port 1521...

    and this is a part of dynamic service registration configuration.

    Your solution is wrong and way out of context...
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    865
    What is the result of tnsping for INSA, INSB?

    Can you do the above on the box from which you pasted the posted tnsnames.ora and post it here?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    78
    The TNSPING for both the instances from the client

    TNS Ping Utility for 32-bit Windows: Version 8.1.6.0.0 - Production on 23-APR-2003 14:18:32

    (c) Copyright 1997 Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.

    Attempting to contact (ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=IPADDRESS)(PORT=1521))
    OK (10 msec)

    I am replacing the ip with ipaddress

    I could not understand about LOCAL_LISTENER

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by Sekhar
    I think When we are connecting from the server its bypassing the listener where as from client the listerner might giving problem ... SO ?????
    Post Listener.ora..
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    78
    The following is my listener.ora

    LISTENER =
    (DESCRIPTION_LIST =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = Myhost)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = EXTPROC))
    )
    )
    )

    SID_LIST_LISTENER =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (SID_NAME = PLSExtProc)
    (ORACLE_HOME = /home/ora8i/m01/app/oracle/product/8.1.6)
    (PROGRAM = extproc)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = INSA)
    (ORACLE_HOME = /home/ora8i/m01/app/oracle/product/8.1.6)
    (SID_NAME = INSA)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = INSB)
    (ORACLE_HOME = /home/ora8i/m01/app/oracle/product/8.1.6)
    (SID_NAME = INSB)
    )
    )

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    I think ur listener is correct...but now i doubt if u have started the DB ( corresponding ) with correct instances.

    please check below code

    Code:
    -- Please note following things.
    -- I have 2 instances TEST and OEMREP.
    -- I always start my DB OEMREP with instance name OEMREP but now i change
    -- i started DB with instance name as TEST instead of OEMREP ( Edited PFile to use the instance as TEST )
    -- my TNS Names would have configured to connect to TEST DB for TEST instance name
    
    SQL> select * from global_name;
    
    GLOBAL_NAME
    ------------------------------------------------------
    OEMREP.DIGITALINDIASW.NET
    
    SQL> select name from v$database;
    
    NAME
    ---------
    OEMREP
    
    SQL> conn scott@oemrep.digitalindiasw.net
    Enter password:
    ERROR:
    ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied
    
    
    SQL> conn scott@test.digitalindiasw.net
    Enter password:
    ERROR:
    ORA-01034: ORACLE not available
    ORA-27101: shared memory realm does not exist
    BTW if by chance, U are using SPFILE and u edited Pfile & think that defualtly ( On startup ) oracle would use this pfile...the answer would be no...it wud rather use SPFILE.

    SO if u hav made ne chages then while startup give path of pfile.

    Well if u have done that correctly....

    try changing ur TNS names file to use SID instead of SERVICE_NAME in the connect to data string.

    Abhay.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    78
    Both The instances are up. and it is connecting properly from the server but not from the client.

    Now I tried by changing service with SID .. Still the problem is same.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width