RMAN and Compress Backup file
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: RMAN and Compress Backup file

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250

    RMAN and Compress Backup file

    Hi all, question on the RMAN and backup file to tape. Anyone has experience on backup thru RMAN and compress the file and sent it tape automatically ?
    If the compressed file is larger than the size of tape can it ask the continuous tape ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    It depends on Media management.Yes while taking backup to tape through a vendor Software say 'VERITAS' surely the file is compressed and if the filesize is larger than the tape automatically will be distributed to other tapes no manual intervention is required.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250
    Thanks for the reply. If I do not have the backup vendor software like Veritas, Legato, so on. Is that mean I won't accomplish compression? Is the MML is normally comes from the Backup Software or the Tape Device Software ?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    I don't think that without any backup software u can achieve this.MML is basically from backup software.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Backup to tape directly won't be possible unless you use a backup software as Akhadar said.

    You can use Legato which comes with the Oracle CDs
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250
    Thanks for the info. Is the Legato is free to use ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Originally posted by ckwan
    Thanks for the info. Is the Legato is free to use ?
    I'm not sure but i think so...
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    I never used the Legato.As per the discussion on this forum it will come in stripped version.If u want u can search for Legato u will find still lot more information on this.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    Just now i found out that in 8.1.7 CD there is a seperate folder with LSM which is used to install LSM(Legato storage Manager).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width