Lost of Control File
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Lost of Control File

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    163

    Lost of Control File

    Hi,

    1. My database is up and running since morning 9 O'clock.
    2. I have three disks and in the first disk I have only master
    control file (i.e the first control file in the Init controlfile
    list).

    Ques 1. If at any cost, my first disk will crash at any time(I don't
    know when it has opened) does my Database will throw any
    ERROR when the database is up and runing?

    Ques 2. Secondly, if I will copy the control file from the other disk
    to it's original first disk, will it give any problem to open
    my database?

    Regards
    Nwcomer
    Student

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    1)Yes, if you lose a controlfile while the system is up you will receive an error.

    2)Yes, if you copy a valid controlfile from another location to the primary you can restart the instance.

    Regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    There is no such thing as a 'master' control file. You have at least 2 copies of the control file which are exact opies of each other

    If you lost just the control file, shut the db down, copy the good control to another place so you have two copes again, add this to your init.ora file and startup.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    163
    1. Does database give error as soon as the control file get lost or
    When I will try to shutdown my database later?

    2. If the database will give error immediately --- the what error
    shall I get?

    3. And if the database will give error while shuting down my
    database .. what error shall I get?

    Thanks and Regards
    Nwcomer
    Student

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    I tried this for you.

    You wont get the error immediatelty, you will get it when the DB tries to write to the control file, which wont be too long.

    If the control isnt there you will get this if you shutdown

    SQL> shutdown immediate
    ORA-00210: cannot open the specified controlfile
    ORA-00202: controlfile: '/u02/oradata/RE8/control1.ctl'
    ORA-27041: unable to open file
    SVR4 Error: 2: No such file or directory
    Additional information: 3
    SQL>



    What I had to do was shutdown abort, make the changes on the OS level and restart

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    163
    So, even if I will try to move my one datafile to a new location, then also I will get the error right?

    Thanks
    Nwcomer
    Student

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    Ok, if we are just talking about control files here do this.

    Get the database shutdown.

    Take a copy of the GOOD control file and copy it to the location of the other control file. If that disk has gone then copy it to a different place and edit the init.ora file and put the location of the new control file in there at the same time removing the location of the old one

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    Originally posted by newcomer
    So, even if I will try to move my one datafile to a new location, then also I will get the error right?

    Thanks
    Yes, if the control file cannot be located in the place specified in the init.ora the error will occur.
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    163
    Hi Jovery,

    Thanks.

    1 But in such case, does Oracle allow me to move the datafile to a
    new location in database level?

    2. Or it will fire the error while trying to update that information in control file?

    Regards
    Nwcomer
    Student

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    Sorry you've confused me a bit here,

    If you now asking if you can move a datafile while the database is up? If so the anser is yes.

    If your asking can a control file be moved when the database is up the answer is no.

    Regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width