Changing DB and Instance name
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Changing DB and Instance name

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tehran/Iran
    Posts
    94

    Changing DB and Instance name

    Dear all,
    I need to change a database and instance name of a database name.
    Except the init.ora and tnsnames.ora and listener.ora.
    What more shall have be done to have 2 different machines hosting identical databases for statnd by purposes. The problem is that the databases has been installed with different names.

    Regards
    Hamhey

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    24
    U can do it by re-creating a new controlfile....




    Cheers
    Laxman

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    335
    If you have 2 servers then there is no need to change DB or SID name.
    Copy you backup to standby server ,create standby controlfile ,etc.
    Another words follow all steps necessary to create standy database .
    One, who thinks that the other one who thinks that know and does not know, does not know either!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    If you are intend make your life easier for standby failover with same instance names for primary and secondary follow BV1963 steps.

    Take hot backup of primary and copy it to standby location with standby controlfile and standby init.ora and bring up the instance. Lot simpler.. If you think its time consuming task based on the size of the database network transfer time for your backup copies, backup controlfile to traqce and change instance name by editing controlfile. Follow the instructions carefully for both tasks.
    Reddy,Sam

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tehran/Iran
    Posts
    94
    Hi again,

    Standby server seems to have some difficulties like that the stndby database is not possible to mount complaining about that db name is not mtching the db name in the init.ora in the standby databse. Viewing the controlfile generated from primary database by strings commend shows that the database name and other directory name are diffrerent from the init.ora file.
    Do we have to edit control file in some way to fix the names to match the init file and how.
    or just put the standby control file generated in the primary database and put into work in the standby database that does not work at this time



    regards
    Hamhdye
    Last edited by hamhey; 04-15-2003 at 05:10 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938

    Re: Changing DB and Instance name

    Originally posted by hamhey
    Dear all,
    I need to change a database and instance name of a database name.
    Except the init.ora and tnsnames.ora and listener.ora.
    What more shall have be done to have 2 different machines hosting identical databases for statnd by purposes. The problem is that the databases has been installed with different names.

    Regards
    Hamhey
    Why don't you use the NID utility?
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g,12c
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    865

    Re: Re: Changing DB and Instance name

    Originally posted by julian
    Why don't you use the NID utility?
    http://technet.oracle.com/oramag/cod...02/102702.html

    HTH.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    335
    Copy init file from primary server to the standby server and if necessary change name and location for control file(s)
    Transfer full backup (cold or hot) to the standby server and place file into the same folders where they come from
    Generate standby controlfile on primary site and put it on standby server as per init.ora file
    Set oracle sid to the same value as primary ,
    go to svrmgrl or sqlplus and :
    startup nomount;
    alter database mount stadby database.

    Please post exact error that occur.
    One, who thinks that the other one who thinks that know and does not know, does not know either!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width