DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: oracle job

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy oracle job

    version 8.1.7,a job did not start at the scheduled time. What can I do?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    post the code.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    763
    Could you tell as the value of the job_queue_processes and job_queue_interval in your database?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Has it worked before?
    Jeff Hunter

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3

    thanks for everbody

    DECLARE v_job NUMBER;
    BEGIN
    DBMS_Job.Submit(v_job,
    'BEGIN DBMS_Stats.Gather_Schema_Stats(''MERKEZ''); END;',
    to_DATE('29.03.2003 01:30:00','DD.MM.YYYY hH:MI:SS') ,
    'Sysdate + 1');
    COMMIT;
    DBMS_Output.Put_Line('Job: ' || v_job);
    END;

    There is no problem creating a job. But nothing happen when the time will come. In this database, this is the first job created and there is not any job that runs before.

    job_queue_processes:
    type : 3
    value: 0
    ISDEFAULT :true
    ISSES :false
    ISSYS_MOD: IMMEDIATE
    ISMODIFIED :false
    ISADJ: FALSE


    job_queue_interval:
    type : 3
    value: 60
    ISDEFAULT :true
    ISSES :false
    ISSYS_MOD: false
    ISMODIFIED :false
    ISADJ: FALSE

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439

    Re: thanks for everbody

    Originally posted by tduzen
    job_queue_processes:
    type : 3
    value: 0
    You don't have any SNP process running, so there is nothing to pick your job out of the job_queue and execute it. You must set parameter JOB_QUEUE_PROCESS to at least 1 in order to be able to execute database jobs. And you have to bounce the database after you change this init parameter, of course.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3

    Wink thanks

    thank you very much, I will try this immediately...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    5,253

    Re: thanks for everbody

    DECLARE v_job NUMBER;
    BEGIN
    DBMS_Job.Submit(v_job,
    'BEGIN DBMS_Stats.Gather_Schema_Stats(''MERKEZ''); END;',
    to_DATE('29.03.2003 01:30:00','DD.MM.YYYY hH:MI:SS') ,
    'Sysdate + 1');
    COMMIT;
    DBMS_Output.Put_Line('Job: ' || v_job);
    END;
    If your intention is that the analyze job should start at 01:30:00 every day, then the bolded selection should read ...

    'Trunc(sysdate)+1+(1.5/24)'

    ... otherwise the job will "creep" forward. This is because the expression is evaluated after the job has executed, not before.
    David Aldridge,
    "The Oracle Sponge"

    Senior Manager, Business Intelligence Development
    XM Satellite Radio
    Washington, DC

    Oracle ACE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width