Lisioner ?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Lisioner ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    69

    Lisioner ?

    Hi all,

    My question is : can i add lisioner dynamically ? if Y, how ?

    ------
    HTML

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    i cant understand the Q....wat do u mean my add listener dynamically???????

    do u mean add contents dynamically?

    Abhay.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    69
    yes,

    i need clarification of this. Please.,

    Multiple lisioners can lision single database, right. While creating the lisioner we should specify the protocol,host,port. right.
    my doubt is that,' how multiple lisioners invoke' ?

    ----
    HTML

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by seshib

    Multiple lisioners can lision single database, right. While creating the lisioner we should specify the protocol,host,port. right.
    my doubt is that,' how multiple lisioners invoke' ?

    ----
    Thas correct...

    to put things in easy and non tech way..any ways it wud rather be in a techi way..

    Listeners listens to the client request and spwans dedicated server process on server side or can say redirects to prespwaned idle server process.

    So now if u have many listeners listening to 1 DB...then wat functionality is achived by 1 listener so is achived by N listeners....decreasing the laod...
    u have to use different ports if u have multiple listeners.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    69
    Thanks for ur reply,

    U mean to say that, another port means in same listener.ora file we have to add one more port with same protocol,host , right ?

    ----
    HTML

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    47
    Originally posted by seshib
    Thanks for ur reply,

    U mean to say that, another port means in same listener.ora file we have to add one more port with same protocol,host , right ?

    ----

    That is true.all the listerners info will be stored in only one listener.ora file.all the listerners need not necessarily have the same protocol.But if u r using tcp/ip for all the listeners then every listener has to listen on a unique port.
    Cheers
    Murali

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    69
    Thanks murali..

    ------
    HTML

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width