dcsimg
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Mass update of heavily indexed fields

Hello everyone, hope someone out here can help me. I am fairly new to Oracle and have just a little SQL experience, nothing extensive. I just started working at a new company and they asked me to 'take a look' at this and see what I could do.

We have about 80 tables that contain SSN as a key field. Some of these tables are fairly large (1 million+ records), the rest vary from a few thousand to a few hundred thousand. We need to convert the ssn values as we are no longer allowed to use SSN, but now need to use employee id. I have been trying to use a SQL statement to perform the update, using a temporary table (SSN_XREFERENCE) that contains the old ssn (old_ssn) number, the new employee id (new_ssn), and a 'conversion segment' (conv_segment) value that I use to limit the total number of records converted in one transaction. Basically, my SQL looks like this:

update table_name
    set ssn = (
    select new_ssn
    from SSN_XREFERENCE
    where old_ssn = ssn)
    where EXISTS (
    select old_ssn
    from SSN_XREFERENCE ';
    where old_ssn = ssn
    and CONV_SEGMENT = '1')

I keep getting RBS errors, also it can take quite a long time to run through all the records (10+ hours), every record in every table will have at least one change. On some of the tables, there are quite a lot of indexes (5-10) that include the ssn field.

Is this performance to be expected? Do I just need to make the conversion segments smaller to avoid the RBS Errors? Do the large number of indexes have anything to do with the update speed? can I turn off the index updates until after all the changes are done and then re-index the table as a whole. Is there anything else you can think of that I am missing?

Thank you for any suggestions you may have, if you need any more info, I will be happy to provide anything I can.

Thanks!
    Charlie