Index gets into invalid status - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Index gets into invalid status

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by adewri
    Aah you mean to say "I literally mean INVALID" or did i get it wrong
    u got it wrong

    ITS "did not an alias for didnt"
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sheffield, England, UK
    Posts
    78
    When I've subjected tables to MOVE commands, I usually know which unuseable indexes are going to impact which sets of users (depending on their application components.)

    Some indexes, I KNOW are superfluous to user requirements, as they don't use them - but the third party developer delivered them - so we keep them, just so we can't be accused of diverging from their delivered specification.


    So.. my point is:

    Rather than having long periods of downtime, where users are restricted from connecting to the system, I rebuild the major indexes that are used firstly... let them back in, and continue with the other rebuilds at my leisure.

    Oracle 9i might be good... but I can't believe it can reach such logical conclusions by itself, so Oracle don't even let it try!


    :-)

    Just a hypothesis

    - Tony.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    AJW_ID01:

    wat does ur point have to do with the ongoing thread...

    i really dont understand...


    Abhay.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Sheffield, England, UK
    Posts
    78
    It has relevance to the point raised as to why Oracle9i might not implicitly rebuild indexes associated with objects subjected to a MOVE command.

    :-)

    T.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    202
    might be a time thing.

    if oracle automaticaly rebuilt the indexes when a table was moved this it'd end up taking longer and you dont want that. Maybe a nice option to specify that you want to rebuilt all indexes when you issue the alter table command would have been nice.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    405
    Originally posted by quester
    Wonder why didn't Oracle take care of such small things in 9i. All it was supposed to do is rebuild the index whenever such operations happened. Wonder if there is any specific reason why they didn't do it (or did they overlook such issues !)
    Human touch.. it's much better than automated thing when it comes to planned adhoc activities. We can allways rebuild the indexes at the time of out fliexibility.
    -nagarjuna

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    5,253
    if oracle did it automatically, you can bet it would be a serial process (rebuild first index, then second index, then third index etc), which would really suck.

    You just need a little bit of PL/SQL to create a procedure that will invoke DBMS_JOB to rebuild them in parallel.
    David Aldridge,
    "The Oracle Sponge"

    Senior Manager, Business Intelligence Development
    XM Satellite Radio
    Washington, DC

    Oracle ACE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width