Datafiles/Tablespaces question
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Datafiles/Tablespaces question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    243

    Datafiles/Tablespaces question

    I have TEST Tablespaces which is 800MB and it's full. I would like to increase the tablespace size by adding an another datafile instead of increasing the current datafile. What's your recommendation on this. Even though I create a new datafile, it will be accessing same disk.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    increasing (as far as possible) is always better than adding.

    RTFM
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by adewri
    increasing (as far as possible) is always better than adding.
    I disagree (with the "as far as possible" part). You don't want to have a data file that is impossible to move because it is really large. I recommend not having a single data file over 2G or 4G.

    I do agree that increasing the size of a data file is better than adding another data file. So many people add data files only to realize later on that they need to drop them which is a difficult and time-consuming process at best.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Thats why i added in (brackets) as far as possible(OS allows 2 GB max by default, but of course you can increase the maximum allowed size).

    Ok, i did not explain clearly... 2 GB is enough.
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,131
    Originally posted by adewri
    Thats why i added in (brackets) as far as possible(OS allows 2 GB max by default, but of course you can increase the maximum allowed size).

    Ok, i did not explain clearly... 2 GB is enough.
    Hate to gang up on you adewri but this is not entirely true either. NT does not have any limit on datafile size, Unix really does not either since you can enable large files and easily exceed 2 gigs.

    MH
    I remember when this place was cool.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Originally posted by Mr.Hanky
    Hate to gang up on you adewri but this is not entirely true either. NT does not have any limit on datafile size, Unix really does not either since you can enable large files and easily exceed 2 gigs.

    MH
    Hi Hanky,

    True, i never said you couldn't increase the size beyond 2GB on unix. I said 2GB is big enough for a datafile (ease in managing them.)

    Well Windows, i don't consider as an OS (never take it into consideration), its a playstation for me (i use it mostly for playing games)

    Regards
    Last edited by adewri; 03-13-2003 at 09:51 AM.
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    Sorry to be pedantic but Windoz does have a file size limit of 4 million blocks, so your database block size x 4000000 will give you your maximum file size.

    Also Windoz is nothing like a playstation, if it where I'd have to stop playing every 30 minutes to reboot it.

    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,131
    Agreed, but keep in mind that a lot of folks out there are supporting on Windoze and reading this.

    MH
    I remember when this place was cool.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,131
    So I guess we all learned something today. I have datafiles as large as 8 gigs on NT so incorectly assumed there were no limits.

    Ps. I inherited this system, so save the comments.

    MH
    I remember when this place was cool.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    Unfortunatley I am one of those people, so I can speak from experience!

    Downtime for my 11 Sun servers in the last year 1hour
    Downtime for my 2 NT servers in the last year 163hours

    :(
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width