what's db_block_size if it's not configured at all in init.ora ??
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: what's db_block_size if it's not configured at all in init.ora ??

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Singapore(Asia)-WebCentre business company
    Posts
    456

    what's db_block_size if it's not configured at all in init.ora ??

    hi experts,

    If i dont specify any db_block_size in init.ora file where does Oracle set this value from?? is it the system ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    Parameter type: Integer

    Parameter class: Static

    Default value: Operating system dependent

    Range of values: 2048 to 32768, but your operating system may have a narrower range

    Oracle Parallel Server: You must set this parameter for every instance, and multiple instances must have the same value



    RTFM

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Singapore(Asia)-WebCentre business company
    Posts
    456
    hi,

    I am using Solaris 2.6 how can i chk wat's my OS block size?
    I am new to unix

    10-q
    ngwh,
    Singapore.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    865
    Originally posted by ngwh
    I am using Solaris 2.6 how can i chk wat's my OS block size?
    10-q
    Code:
    ORACLE: SYS> select max(lebsz) from sys.x$kccle;
    
    MAX(LEBSZ)
    ----------
           512
    
    ORACLE: SYS>
    Check this out...

    http://www.ixora.com.au/notes/log_block_size.htm

    HTH.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Singapore(Asia)-WebCentre business company
    Posts
    456
    hi ggnan,

    I used your method and i got 512 as the result but when i query the parameters in oracle it return db_block_size =2048 so I was wondering where exactly in Solaris I can confirm the OS block size?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Originally posted by ngwh
    hi ggnan,

    I used your method and i got 512 as the result but when i query the parameters in oracle it return db_block_size =2048 so I was wondering where exactly in Solaris I can confirm the OS block size?
    512 is the OS block size and 2048 is the DB block size, DB block size should always be multiple of OS block size...

    Originally posted by ngwh
    hi,

    I am new to unix

    10-q
    I think you are new to oracle as well

    RTFM
    Last edited by adewri; 03-13-2003 at 02:48 AM.
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    115
    Correct me if i am wrong.

    OS block size specified durin installation

    oracle block size has to be multiple of OS block size.In your case, 4 OS blocks make up 1 Oracle datablock

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Singapore(Asia)-WebCentre business company
    Posts
    456
    oh..in that case how can i know how many times are Oracle block size are in terms of OS size?? since it wasn't specified in init.ora ??

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Originally posted by ngwh

    oh..in that case how can i know how many times are Oracle block size are in terms of OS size?? since it wasn't specified in init.ora ??
    Originally posted by ngwh
    hi ggnan,

    I used your method and i got 512 as the result but when i query the parameters in oracle it return db_block_size =2048 so I was wondering where exactly in Solaris I can confirm the OS block size?
    Its elementary my dear watson.

    divide 2048 by 512
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    I think that 512k is the os block size..for all practical purposes you can ignore this..as the most important thing is the file system block size..In solaris you can see that like this

    uname -a
    SunOS aha 5.8 Generic_108528-11 sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-5_10


    ahah:agag >df -g|grep "block"


    / (/dev/dsk/c0t0d0s0 ): 8192 block size 1024
    6014172 total blocks 718056 free blocks 597774 available 509952 s
    /proc (/proc ): 512 block size 512
    0 total blocks 0 free blocks 0 available 7916 s
    /dev/fd (fd ): 1024 block size 1024
    0 total blocks 0 free blocks 0 available 63 s
    /etc/mnttab (mnttab ): 512 block size 512
    0 total blocks 0 free blocks 0 available 1 s
    /var/run (swap ): 8192 block size 8192
    1963616 total blocks 1963600 free blocks 1963600 available 54175 s
    /tmp (swap ): 8192 block size 8192
    2031248 total blocks 1963600 free blocks 1963600 available 54175 s
    /data (/dev/dsk/c0t0d0s3 ): 8192 block size 1024
    31153540 total blocks 1523686 free blocks 1212152 available 1964928 s

    regards
    Hrishy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width