RMAN Doubt
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: RMAN Doubt

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    176

    RMAN Doubt

    Hi everyone ,

    We have a test database. we have a catalog for this database and using Rman to backup the database. Now the current logifle is 332. we have the archive logfiles from 300. when we backup the archivelogfiles after backuping up the database , it asks fro archivelogfiles from 299, i dont understand why. We need the archives whihc are generated after the backup only right, so in case of failures we can use this backup and the archive , but why does it ask for archives whihc are very old to the current database. Pls do advice.

    my command looks like this
    Run
    {
    allocate channel c1 type disk;
    allocate channel c2 type disk;
    Backup database;
    sql 'Alter system switch logfile';
    backup archivelog all;
    }

    thanks
    Success Consists of Getting Up Just One More Time Than You've Fallen Down
    Be Blessed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Hi,

    In your other post you have mentioned that you have done a resetlog of the database. If yes the you need to resync database in the rman catalog too.

    HTH
    Last edited by adewri; 03-11-2003 at 09:46 AM.
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    176
    Thanks for the reply .But those two are different databases.
    Actually the reset was done in the database whihc has the catalog.
    So pls do advice on the RMAN Archivelog backup

    Thanks
    Success Consists of Getting Up Just One More Time Than You've Fallen Down
    Be Blessed

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    What is the output of

    RMAN> list incarnation;
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    176
    this is the output


    RMAN-03022: compiling command: list

    List of Database Incarnations
    DB Key Inc Key DB Name DB ID CUR Reset SCN Reset Time
    ------- ------- -------- ---------------- --- ---------- ----------
    1 2 WINTER 3384086389 YES 1 27-MAY-02
    Success Consists of Getting Up Just One More Time Than You've Fallen Down
    Be Blessed

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    176
    one more thing i forgot to mention both our Operating Systems dates are march-11-1999, this we have adjusted for some purposes. but it is like this before the day we installed oracle.
    Success Consists of Getting Up Just One More Time Than You've Fallen Down
    Be Blessed

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    If the archive log exists physically then give

    RMAN> resync catalog;

    Possible reason either the logfile that RMAN is looking for cannot be accessed by RMAN, or RMAN files need to be resynchronized.

    If it doesnot exist then.

    For 8 use:

    RMAN> Change Archivelog All Validate;

    For 8i use:

    RMAN> Change Archivelog All Crosscheck;

    for 9i

    RMAN> crosscheck archivelog all ;

    This commands checks for the physical presence of the archived redo log on disk, and if it is present the file header is then checked. Files not found or files with incorrect file headers will be marked as deleted in the Recovery Catalog.

    HTH
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    176
    Thanks for your Replies. If i applied your suggestion I get the error


    RMAN> crosscheck archivelog all validate;

    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00558: error encountered while parsing input commands
    RMAN-01005: syntax error: found "archivelog": expecting one of: "backup, back
    et"
    RMAN-01007: at line 1 column 12 file: standard input

    RMAN> change archivelog all crosscheck;

    RMAN-03022: compiling command: change
    RMAN-06157: validation failed for archived log
    RMAN-08514: archivelog filename=E:\ORACLE\ORA81\RDBMS\ARC00299.001 recid=82 s
    p=475237308

    Its becos the Archivelog is missing.

    My doubt is when i am taking the backup the oldest logfile is 331 and current logfile is 332. So when i take a backup it should require only archivefile after the backup is taken. Am i right? i.e archive log files only after 331 needed for this backup to be restored and recovered but why does it ask 299?

    Thanks
    Success Consists of Getting Up Just One More Time Than You've Fallen Down
    Be Blessed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width