DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: What am I getting myself into?

I would like to apologize for barging in to your forum, but I am not quite sure what to do.

I am a Web Designer with more of a technical side than art side.

I am in a start up internet company, and they want me to learn cold fusion and oracle. Because of my enthusiasm not my knowledge.

What am I getting myself into? How long should I expect it to take to learn oracle? Is there anywhere in California (Riverside County) I can go to learn it. Am I in way over my head?

Any advice or suggestions would be much appreciated!

I have worked at a job where ColdFusion was used with Oracle as backend. I was the DBA and never worked directly with ColdFusion, but they do work well together and there are probably plenty of jobs out there for it.

If you have already had experience with Web design, I would think you'll be fine. Go for it!

I dont' know what training is out there for ColdFusion, but I've been told it's fairly easy to learn. As for the Oracle end, learn SQL and PL/SQL, if you don't already know it. SQL tuning and optimizing is critical in deploying an effective application system. Learning the basic architecture of Oracle would be beneficial too. Those would be the places I'd start if I were you.

Good luck

Maachan

Thank you for your reply. I have started in ColdFusion, and it appears to do-able.

It supports basic SQL statements, so I certainly will look into learning SQL.

What is PL/SQL?

Do you know of places to learn Oracle basics?

Thanks,

tsmlkbaker

Other than this site, try [url]http://technet.oracle.com/[/url] membership is free and they have all the Oracle docs online.

PL/SQL is Procedural Language with SQL embedded.

Take care

Thumbs up