Taking Backup on Tape Drive
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Taking Backup on Tape Drive

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    32

    Question Taking Backup on Tape Drive

    Hi.
    I am junior DBA in my company.
    We are using Oracle 9i.
    We have just now bought a tape drive and my company wants me to take backup of our database on the tape.I dont know how because I have never done that.
    Before this we use to take the backup on Hard disk.
    Can any one Plz help in this matter.

    Regards Zeeshan!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    This depends on OS and platform . . . . what do you have?
    "The power of instruction is seldom of much efficacy except in those happy dispositions where it is almost superfluous" - Gibbon, quoted by R.P.Feynman

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    865
    If you take backup to tape directly, in my experience, it takes a very long time. This will affect the end users especially if u do it when they are using the db. So you can take a backup to the hard disk and then move to tape.

    Do the following

    1. mount the tape (mount -f /dev/mnt/0)

    2. tar -cvf (backup to tape)

    3. tar -tvf (verify the backup)

    HTH.

    Note: The above is for an UNIX box.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Hi,

    Best option would be to ask the vendor who has supplied you the tape drive to configure it for you. Also ask him what command should be used to copy files from disk to tape.

    If you want to backup the online database directly to tape then you can use RMAN with some storage manager.

    Other option will to continue taking backups as usual and just copy the backup to the tape.

    HTH
    Last edited by adewri; 03-07-2003 at 07:35 AM.
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    32
    Thanx Guys.
    I am using Using Intel Server Platform with Windows 2000 Server.
    I think I wil backup the files on Disk and copy it to the
    Tape drive.
    But What ABout Recovering the Database from the Backup.
    HOW WOULD I DO THAT?
    Any Help!
    Regards Zeeshan!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    36
    Before this we use to take the backup on Hard disk.
    Simple copy back from tape to hard disk and do a recovery as you used to do before

    Sam

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    32
    Thanx a lot Guys.
    U really helped me out.
    I will do that.
    If i ned more help I know Who to ask.
    Once agian Thanx.
    Regards Zeeshan!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Originally posted by adewri
    Best option would be to ask the vendor who has supplied you the tape drive to configure it for you. Also ask him what command should be used to copy files from disk to tape.
    Windows provides drivers for many tape devices and a driver should have packed with the drive. In this case you could use the Windows backup program to copy your disk backup to tape.

    HOWEVER I am told (this is hearsay) that Windows backup with the native drivers doesn't do very well with modern high speed drives - often producing lots of over-run & backspace operations. It is claimed that the drivers supplied with proprietry backup software are better. We took this route a long time ago (ArcServe in our case - tho' lots of other options).
    "The power of instruction is seldom of much efficacy except in those happy dispositions where it is almost superfluous" - Gibbon, quoted by R.P.Feynman

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Dapi,

    I answered that one assuming that he has a unix OS.

    its always better to let the vendor do the first setup, so that you know it works and not doing it the wrong way. After all it should not jeopardize your backups.

    With windows its easy, i suppose, never tried on windows.

    Cheers!
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Hi Amar,

    I wasn't disagreeing - just adding a bit . . .
    . . . particularly in this case where the vendor could be correct (from what I've heard) in trying to sell an extra $300 of software. When talking to vendors it's good to know as much as they do!

    Have a good one!
    "The power of instruction is seldom of much efficacy except in those happy dispositions where it is almost superfluous" - Gibbon, quoted by R.P.Feynman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width