unable to open DB
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: unable to open DB

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434

    unable to open DB

    Only one instance is using this DB....coz while creation of DB i had given MAXINSTANCES 1......

    am getting below error while opening DB....can any 1 let me know if i am going wrong ne where or do i have to set any thing else....or the very basic close and open wont work????????


    Code:
    SQL> alter database close;
    
    Database altered.
    
    SQL> alter database open;
    alter database open
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-01531: a database already open by the instance
    
    
    SQL> shutdown
    ORA-01109: database not open
    
    
    Database dismounted.
    ORACLE instance shut down.
    SQL>
    Am confused

    Abhay.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    What OS...
    What version ??
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by adewri
    What OS...
    What version ??
    OS : WIN2K
    Version :
    Oracle9i Enterprise Edition Release 9.0.1.1.1 - Production
    PL/SQL Release 9.0.1.1.1 - Production
    CORE 9.0.1.1.1 Production
    TNS for 32-bit Windows: Version 9.0.1.1.0 - Production
    NLSRTL Version 9.0.1.1.1 - Production

    Abhay.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    According to Oracle the 'alter database close' is not a documented command and should not be used as it puts the database into a 'stange' state (thier words!)

    There are several threads on Metalink relating to this 'feature'

    Regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Windows

    Reboot your system

    Is it possible to do that ?? i mean

    alter database close...

    every time i try i get

    Code:
    SQL> alter database close;
    alter database close
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-01093: ALTER DATABASE CLOSE only permitted with no sessions connected
    
    
    SQL> select username from v$session;
    
    USERNAME
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    SYS
    
    9 rows selected.
    
    SQL>
    How did you do that ??
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by adewri
    Windows

    Is it possible to do that ?? i mean

    alter database close...

    How did you do that ??
    Code:
    SQL> select username from v$session;
    
    USERNAME
    ------------------------------
    
    
    
    
    
    
    SYS
    SYS
    
    8 rows selected.
    
    SQL> alter database close normal;
    alter database close normal
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-01093: ALTER DATABASE CLOSE only permitted with no sessions connected
    
    --i disconnected other session....
    
    SQL> select username from v$session;
    
    USERNAME
    ------------------------------
    
    
    
    
    
    
    SYS
    
    7 rows selected.
    
    SQL> alter database close normal;
    
    Database altered.
    
    SQL> alter database open;
    alter database open
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-01531: a database already open by the instance
    
    
    SQL>
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by jovery
    According to Oracle the 'alter database close' is not a documented command
    Regards
    jovery :

    Yes it indeed is not documented.......

    but while going thru shut down steps....i was curious if close/open worked....

    Abhay.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Good that its doesn't work at my place
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width