Segmentation fault (Core dumped)
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Segmentation fault (Core dumped)

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    291

    Segmentation fault (Core dumped)

    Hi Gurus,
    I'm trying to import my yesterday's production DB on another machine for some testing purpose. I created a clone of my production DB, but with a block size of 4KB unlike as production 8KB. My OS is Linux 7.2 and oracle 9.0.1.4.0 . Import process is starting and at after creating 4 tables, its kicking out saying
    "Segmentation fault (core dumped)". I set all the Shared memory parameters and all. here are my shared memory parameter values..

    [root@cmsprod3 kernel]# cat sem
    250 32000 32 128

    shmmax
    1000000000

    shmmni
    4096

    shmall
    2097152


    Please help me in solving this problem.

    Thanks in advance.
    PNRDBA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    Imp w/ analyze=n

    That's a bug that was supposed to be fixed in 9.0.1
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    291
    Hi Ken,
    You mean to say, import with analyze=n??

    Thanks
    PNRDBA

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    Correct.

    or, you could re-export with statistics=n
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    291
    ken, Getting the same error again even after using analyze=N option.

    [oracle@cmsprod3 oracle]$ imp system/manager file=/u10/expdat1.dmp,/u10/expdat2.dmp,/u10/expdat3.dmp,/u10/expdat4.dmp log=/u10/import.log fromuser=cms,cmsit,cmsapp,cmsadhoc,cms2adm touser=cms,cmsit,cmsapp,cmsadhoc,cms2adm analyze=N

    Import: Release 9.0.1.4.0 - Production on Tue Feb 18 17:47:44 2003

    (c) Copyright 2001 Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.


    Connected to: Oracle9i Enterprise Edition Release 9.0.1.4.0 - Production
    With the Partitioning option
    JServer Release 9.0.1.4.0 - Production

    Export file created by EXPORT:V09.00.01 via conventional path
    import done in US7ASCII character set and AL16UTF16 NCHAR character set
    IMP-00046: using FILESIZE value from export file of 2097152000
    . importing CMS's objects into CMS
    . . importing table "ACTION_TEMP" 14392 rows imported
    . . importing table "ALLINAUB92" 0 rows imported
    . . importing table "ALLINAUB92D" 0 rows imported
    . . importing table "AUTO_POSTING_HANDLE" 23 rows imported
    . . importing table "A_ASSIGNMENTHISTORY"Segmentation fault (core dumped)
    [oracle@cmsprod3 oracle]$
    imp system/manager file=/u10/expdat1.dmp,/u10/expdat2.dmp,/u10/expdat3.dmp,/u10/expdat4.dmp log=/u10/import.log fromuser=cms,cmsit,cmsapp,cmsadhoc,cms2adm touser=cms,cmsit,cmsapp,cmsadhoc,cms2adm analyze=N
    PNRDBA

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    Type "ulimit -a" and post the results.
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    291
    [oracle@cmsprod3 oracle]$ ulimit -a
    core file size (blocks) 1000000
    data seg size (kbytes) unlimited
    file size (blocks) unlimited
    max locked memory (kbytes) unlimited
    max memory size (kbytes) unlimited
    open files 1024
    pipe size (512 bytes) 8
    stack size (kbytes) 8192
    cpu time (seconds) unlimited
    max user processes 81919
    virtual memory (kbytes) unlimited
    [oracle@cmsprod3 oracle]$
    PNRDBA

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    That looks good.

    Are the NLS_LANG's the same?

    Is this something you do routinely and it just failed today?
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    291
    Ken,
    I think the max user processes are very less, bcoz the same value for this in my prod DB is ..
    max user processes 196608

    Will this effect? if yes, how can i change this value to the required one?

    Thanks
    PNRDBA

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    291
    No, its of some thing like one time job, but when i imported the same DB on some other 2 more machines, with same OS , every thing same, it went fine, but not on this Box. Can you please throw some light on this. B'coz, i need to prepare this today and make it ready for my developers.

    Many Thanks in advance
    PNRDBA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width