DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Unix Display feature

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    36

    Unix Display feature

    Hi all

    OS=UNIX (Sun Solaris 5.8) DB=Oracle 8.1.7

    I am trying to run netasst GUI on my oracle installation. I have set my display env to the IP address of my box with the following error:

    # DISPLAY=10.1.6.12:0.0 is not an identifier.

    Is there another identifier I am not using?

    I will appreciate your comments.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,166
    Depending on you shell. You need to either

    SET DISPLAY=10.1.6.12:0.0
    export DISPLAY

    or

    export DISPLAY=10.1.6.12:0.0

    I use the second option because the change happens imediately.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,334
    what shell are you running in?

    if ksh do

    export DISPLAY=10.1.6.12:0.0

    if csh do

    setenv DISPLAY 10.1.6.12:0.0

    if bash do

    DISPLAY=10.1.6.12:0.0
    export DISPLAY

    You have probably set it incorrectly somewhere

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    36
    Thanks guys,

    The shell for my Oracle is Ksh while the root shell is csh. I have run both display types and still coming up with this error:

    $ set DISPLAY=10.6.1.10:0.0; export DISPLAY
    $ netasst
    Xlib: connection to "10.6.1.10:0.0" refused by server
    Xlib: Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 key
    java.lang.NullPointerException
    at oracle.ewt.lwAWT.BufferedFrame._init(Compiled Code)
    at oracle.ewt.lwAWT.BufferedFrame.(Compiled Code)
    at oracle.sysman.emSDK.client.appContainer.ApplicationFrame.(Compiled Code)
    at oracle.sysman.emSDK.client.appContainer.WebApplication.main(Compiled Code)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    128
    You're refusing connections
    "Xlib: connection to "10.6.1.10:0.0" refused by server"

    you need to allow connections via command:
    xhost +
    alapps

    Fast, Cheap, Reliable... Pick Two(2)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    36
    Thanks all,

    I realized I wasn't logged in as Oracle. If I was logged in as Oracle, I won't require to set the DISPLAY. And the error I received was as a result of the "set" in front of the DISPLAY.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width