Sometimes Oracle9i Database startup process uses 1GB Mem
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Sometimes Oracle9i Database startup process uses 1GB Mem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    India
    Posts
    7

    Unhappy Sometimes Oracle9i Database startup process uses 1GB Mem

    Hi,
    I am running Oracle9i on RedHat Linux 7.2. I successfully installed Enterprise edition and created a brand new database. Everything is fine and working normally. but, sometimes when I startup my database the server process is going on graping the Mem upto 1GB. ( which is my total RAM ) and its going on using the swap area also. which making my server to slowdown. after waiting for 3 to 4 min. I am forced to kill the Process.

    Why its happening? Is their any changes need to be done at Kernel?

    Can any 1 help me????

    ThanX in Advance...........


    akal.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    show us the init parameter file.
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    268
    HI,
    set SGA_MAX_SIZE = integer [K | M | G] in your init.ora file.

    Cheers.
    It is better to ask and appear ignorant, than to remain silent and remain ignorant.

    Oracle OCP DBA 9i,
    C++, Java developer

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    india(bangalore )
    Posts
    14

    Lightbulb

    when u start your database . min it will 300 to 450 m ram in win200 server. u said that u have 1 gb ram . if oracle server is using the swap. better u check your init.ora
    abdulkhadeer

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    how do you check a process is using 1GB ram in linux???

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    ps ug|more may be which shows the % of memory used.
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    ps doesnt show real memory used though

    I have been searching how to see real memory used in unix/linux and so far I only know in Solaris you can see with pmap but others no luck

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi Pando

    In linux you can use the tool free

    free
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 255384 202360 53024 0 83628 61376
    -/+ buffers/cache: 57356 198028
    Swap: 529192 47908 481284

    regards
    Hrishy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    hrishy I mean memory used per process not the free memory available in the whole box

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    hi Pando

    sorry lol...heheh

    regards
    Hrishy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width