Database Times Out !! URGENT
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Database Times Out !! URGENT

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    284

    Database Times Out !! URGENT

    Hello all..

    Sun 5.8/ Oracle 9.2

    Our application servers make multi connections to the database and keeps these connections open. Everything works fine until I come back a day later, then some of the connections to the database are invalid and I get socket errors. Not all connections have this problem, only about 25% of them.

    Is there a timeout value?

    Any one has any ideas.?

    thanks
    ron

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    if you dont post any ORA-error then it's quite hard to help

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    284
    Sorry about that...

    Since it happens only if idle overnight....Let me see if i can reporduce that error again..

    In the meantime, Is there soem kind of Database time outs for connections that are idle for a long time ?.

    Where can i set this ?.

    Thanks
    ron

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    well you can set idle_timeout in profile, those session who dies like that their status become sniped in v$session

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    284
    Thanks..

    Is there a Table or view for the default Profile?....Like where i can see idle time, concurrent sessions ,...etc.

    thanks
    ron

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    Try this

    Code:
    select
      resource_name, limit
    from 
      dba_profiles
    where profile = 'DEFAULT'
    regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    284
    Hello all again...

    where do we find out if there are any errors in the DB about lost
    connections?...Can we see them in alert log file ?....

    Thanks again.

    ron

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width