DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Oracle DBA Basics

Hybrid View

Oracle DBA Basics

Hi Guys

I'm aware this may be a run of the mill, often asked question so please bear with me.
    I'm basically looking at moving into training up as an Oracle DBA. My background is 8 years of Windows Technical Support - forgive me
    I don't see a lot of future in this and I am seriously looking at moving towards an Oracle DBA as I see it as much more challenging and more likely to provide a good future.
    If anyone out there could give me a few pointers on how to get started eg. good beginner books, websites or any other relevant information I would be eternally gratefull! I have an understanding of Relational Databases, but not in the Oracle world.

Thanks
    Jeremy

Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

Re: Oracle DBA Basics

Originally posted by jboyes
    Hi Guys

....moving towards an Oracle DBA as I see it as much more challenging and more likely to provide a good future.....

Jeremy
    Jeremy,
    I don't think oracle DBA job is going to provide any secure solid future any more, there are enough dba's with experience and certs and they're on a lookout too.

It won't be any challenging any more, I mean as a dba you'll start rusting when you'll just have to use a tool to let it tell you what to do. I think the DBA jobs are on the wane. I think you need to anticipate a little here, get some other os's experience like linux/unix etc

You said you have an understanding of rdbms then read a concepts manual first, install the software on you different platforms and start practicing.
    Tarry Singh
    I'm a JOLE(JavaOracleLinuxEnthusiast)
    TarryBlogging
    --- Everything was meant to be---