CREATE DATABASE Manually ?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: CREATE DATABASE Manually ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    284

    CREATE DATABASE Manually ?

    Hello all..

    Iam trying to create DB Manually instead of DBCA. this is what i have done...

    Win2K and Oracle9.2

    1) set ORACLE_SID=heatdb

    2) created initheatdb.ora file , included all relevent info like db_block_size....etc. and saved that file in
    c:\oracle9i\ora92\admin\heatdb\pfile

    3)Created a sql script that includes info about CREATE Database Script

    ***********************************just a sample*********
    CREATE DATABASE heatdb
    MAXINSTANCES 1
    MAXLOGHISTORY 1
    MAXLOGFILES 5
    MAXLOGMEMBERS 5
    MAXDATAFILES 100
    DATAFILE 'c:/oracle9i\ora92\oradata\heatdb\system01.dbf' SIZE 325M REUSE
    ************************************* just a sample ********

    4) then i went to DOS prompt....and issued the following Command
    *****************************************************
    C:\>sqlplus /nolog

    SQL*Plus: Release 9.2.0.1.0 - Production on Tue Jan 7 16:37:44 2003
    Copyright (c) 1982, 2002, Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.
    SQL> connect / as sysdba
    ERROR:ORA-12560: TNSrotocol adapter error

    SQL>
    *******************************************************


    So my questios are
    1) how can i create a Database manually, by running the script which i created in STEP 3. Its not conencting me into the database
    2) Am i doing the right Way ?..
    3) is there any alternate way we can create DB manually ?


    Thanks for all your help

    Ron

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Before anything else, you have to create (and start) Oracle database service if you are in Windows enviroment. Check the ORADIM utility in manuals...
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Sorry, didn't see you were on Windoz. In that case, http://www.akadia.com/services/ora_w2k_install_9i.html
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    what is sometimes useful is running dbca thwn saving the create scripts instead of running them, then you can see what needs to be done to start a full database on your platform

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    268
    Hi,
    you need to use ORADIM utility to create a service for your instance:
    oradim -new -sid heatdb -pfile c:\oracle9i\ora92\admin\heatdb\pfile\initheatdb.ora -startmode a

    set ORACLE_SID=heatdb
    sqlplus /nolog


    now create the database.

    Cheers.
    It is better to ask and appear ignorant, than to remain silent and remain ignorant.

    Oracle OCP DBA 9i,
    C++, Java developer

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by jmodic
    Before anything else, you have to create (and start) Oracle database service if you are in Windows enviroment. Check the ORADIM utility in manuals...
    Just to add the quote...

    After u create a service, if u have existing database running ,
    then u need to set ENIVRONMENTAL VARILABLES to created SID...
    Or Configure Listener,TNS names & give connect string to connect to the IDLE Instance created.

    Abhay.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany.Laudenbach
    Posts
    448
    Originally posted by davey23uk
    what is sometimes useful is running dbca thwn saving the create scripts instead of running them, then you can see what needs to be done to start a full database on your platform
    Hi, that's the way !
    i always do it in this manner
    after getting the complete scripts, you can modify them
    and start the creating of the db.
    Orca

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    284
    how do we save the script in DBCA utility ?.....

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Originally posted by vr76413
    how do we save the script in DBCA utility ?.....

    Thanks
    Due last step of using DBCA u have 2 options

    1)Check box for create database.
    2)Check box for save as scripts.

    check opt 2 and finish.

    Abhay.
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width