How to increase SGA_MAX_SIZE ?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to increase SGA_MAX_SIZE ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    284

    How to increase SGA_MAX_SIZE ?

    Hello all

    Sun 5.8/Oracle9.2.0.1

    This is my current SGA Settings..

    SQL> show sga

    Total System Global Area 320308312 bytes
    Fixed Size 730200 bytes
    Variable Size 285212672 bytes
    Database Buffers 33554432 bytes
    Redo Buffers 811008 bytes


    To install Oracle 9.2.0.2 patch I need to increase Shared_pool_size and JAva_pool_size to atleast 150M each.

    My current Shared_pool_size=117440512 and JAva_pool_size =117440512.

    Now , if i inccrease both shared_pool_size and JAva_pool_size to 150M, then my Total SGA Size will be around 400MB. But init.ora file parameter shows SGA_MAX_SIZE = 320308312 bytes.

    So will that be a problem, if i increase the Shared_Pool_size and Java_pool_size ?....


    basically how do increase the Whole SGA Size ?....from 320MB to say 500MB ?....

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    One way:

    shutdown

    edit your initSID.ora file and set SGA_MAX_SIZE=500M (and your other parameters that needed to be changed)

    startup

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    284
    How do we calculate the funky numbering we see for all these parameters ?...

    like for eg. 32M = 323459083 bytes stuff like that ?..

    How is the MAth done ?....can anyone give me exactly how we can come up exact number to put in init.ora file for a say 150MB?...

    i have some vague idea like 150 *1024 * 1024 or something like that.

    Can anyone explain how it is done ?...


    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    errr dont you know 1k is 1024 bytes?!?!?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    284
    thanks pando...

    i just did that math...

    my SGA shows 320308312 bytes...so looks like i have 320MB SGA.


    so to calculate 320MB manually...

    so 320*1024*1000 = 32680000 which is not equal to 320308312 as shown by SGA...

    Iam little confused here...

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    1KB = 1024 bytes
    1MB = 1024 * 1024 bytes = 1048576 bytes, and so on

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width