standby using HOT BACKUP
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: standby using HOT BACKUP

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    267

    standby using HOT BACKUP

    hi folks,
    is it possible to configure standby database, by taking a HOT BACKUP..
    regarsds
    sonia

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Düsseldorf, Germany.
    Posts
    588
    if you have controlfile created as 'STANDBY CONTROLFILE'

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    You can use any backup to create standby database.
    Sanjay G.
    Oracle Certified Professional 8i, 9i.

    "The degree of normality in a database is inversely proportional to that of its DBA"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    India
    Posts
    105
    Yes it is possible
    1. You can take new backup of ur primary database or you can use ur old backup
    2. Create standby controlfile
    3. copy above things to new site.
    4 Place archvielogs in with destination Init parameters

    Things works fine.


    viraj
    -----------
    OCA 9i
    A Wise Man Knows How much he doesn't know !!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    128
    1) Create stanby database from a valid hot or cold backup

    2) create a standby controlfile by running the following command on the primary and then tranfer the new standby controlfile to the standby database server.

    ALTER DATABASE CREATE STANBY CONTROLFILE AS 'mystandbycontrolfile.ctl'

    3) apply the archive logs against the standby database
    alapps

    Fast, Cheap, Reliable... Pick Two(2)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    India & Australia
    Posts
    68

    standby using HOT BACKUP

    Whether it is HOT or COLD Backup doesn't matter.

    The ARCHs must be in tandem match with the the source database.

    VAST

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    267
    hi,
    should i create the standby controlfile before taking the hot backup or after taking the hotbackup.

    Regards
    sonia

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by Sonia
    hi,
    should i create the standby controlfile before taking the hot backup or after taking the hotbackup.

    Regards
    sonia
    Take the backup first and then run ALTER DATABASE CREATE STANBY CONTROLFILE AS ...
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g,12c
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width