standby problem
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: standby problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    376

    standby problem

    hi,
    I have configured the standby database in managed recovery mode
    . But it is not automatically applying the archives to the database.
    The sequence# of primary is not in sync with the standby database.

    The archives are getting transferred; but not getting applied.

    So i am planning to do recovery, using the following command.

    SQL>recover standby database using backup controlfile until cancel;

    Does,this mean an incomplete recovery.......
    Or how should i go about the same.

    Is there any otehr way to go about the same.

    And it is production database and i cannot take a fresh cold backup,
    coz i don't get the down time.

    Regards

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439

    Re: standby problem

    Originally posted by bang_dba
    hi,
    I have configured the standby database in managed recovery mode
    . But it is not automatically applying the archives to the database.
    The sequence# of primary is not in sync with the standby database.

    The archives are getting transferred; but not getting applied.
    That's exactly the expected behaviour. The log transport mechanism is the one that is automated, while the log apply portion is not (which BTW is very logical).
    So i am planning to do recovery, using the following command.

    SQL>recover standby database using backup controlfile until cancel;

    Does,this mean an incomplete recovery.......
    Or how should i go about the same.

    Is there any otehr way to go about the same.

    And it is production database and i cannot take a fresh cold backup,
    coz i don't get the down time.

    Regards
    Hey, haven't you read Standby/DataGuard manuals at all? Of course you wouldn't (and couldn't) use something like "RECOVER STANDBY DATABASE USING BACKUP CONTROLFILE..."!!!!

    Check the manuals, you'll find the following command in there and its explanation:
    Code:
    ALTER DATABASE RECOVER MANAGED STANDBY DATABASE....
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    128
    What version of Oracle?

    Oracle 8i (Solaris) has a bug in the managed standby process such that the primary database must be "Bounced" after the standby database has been rebuilt to get the databases talking again.

    To apply the logs use a shell script (see below) and start it nohup in the background (This "Inconvienence" is also fixed in 9i)

    sqlplus /nolog << EOF
    connect / as sysdba
    recover managed standby database;
    exit;
    EOF

    *****************************************
    From a shell prompt start the script as follows:

    nohup rmsdb.sql &

    (The command assumes that the script is called rmsdb.sql and you are in the same directory as the script)
    alapps

    Fast, Cheap, Reliable... Pick Two(2)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    376
    hi,

    What i did is; i stopped the managed recovery mode
    by the command.

    SQL>recover managed standby database cancel;

    Then recovered the standby database by
    SQL>recover standby database;

    Then i have put my standby database back into RECOVERY mode.

    sql>recover managed standby database;


    Now everything is working fine; as soon as the archives arrives
    at the standby destination,it applies the archives and does
    media recovery of that archive.

    But, till now i couldn't figure out why it came to a standstill
    before. Like it was waiting for archives; eventhough the
    archives were there, it didn't applied the same. So i had to do
    the manual recovery. After doing manual recovery, and putting back
    the standby to managed recovery, it is doing fine.

    Well, i am using 8.1.7 on spark. and also doesn't know much about
    data gaurd.

    Can anybody tell me, what all new benefits that i can get by using
    the DATA GUARD or how can i improvize on my current standby setup.

    Thanx all

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    128
    Data guard is available with 9i. Since you are running 8i (8.1.7), all that is available is the old fashioned (Deferred) standby. To improve your current standby setup, implement the script that was given in my prior response. It is the same script that I run on my 8.1.7 Sparc DB. You have two(2) choices: 1) live with the 8.1.7 limitations and workarounds, 2) Upgrade to 9i, use data guard and the improvements.

    P.S. Oracle 9i corrects the need for nohup &.

    RECOVER MANAGED STANDBY DATABASE DISCONNECT;
    alapps

    Fast, Cheap, Reliable... Pick Two(2)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    India & Australia
    Posts
    68

    standby problem

    Originally posted by alapps
    Data guard is available with 9i. Since you are running 8i (8.1.7), all that is available is the old fashioned (Deferred) standby. To improve your current standby setup, implement the script that was given in my prior response. It is the same script that I run on my 8.1.7 Sparc DB. You have two(2) choices: 1) live with the 8.1.7 limitations and workarounds, 2) Upgrade to 9i, use data guard and the improvements.

    P.S. Oracle 9i corrects the need for nohup &.

    RECOVER MANAGED STANDBY DATABASE DISCONNECT;
    I am sure that the following command will not work with

    RECOVER MANAGED STANDBY DATABASE DISCONNECT;

    As you suggested either to stick to 8i or upgrade to 9i but How to solve the problem.

    Even the Dataguard never supports the 8i version.

    so the problem comes to square one.

    I AM ALSO FACING SAME SITUATION

    VAST

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width