RMAN doesn't allow me to perform a 2nd point in time recovery after the first 1
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: RMAN doesn't allow me to perform a 2nd point in time recovery after the first 1

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    132

    RMAN doesn't allow me to perform a 2nd point in time recovery after the first 1

    RMAN doesn't allow me to perform a 2nd point in time recovery after the first 1 i did 10 minutes ago. it's giving me an RMAN-20011:target database incarnation is not current in recovery catalog. I already did a "reset database to incarnation x", i only have 2 incarnations i tried them both already but rman's still giving me the same error msg. what are your advice?
    You think I'm going to have an affair with you? --Stanley Kowalski

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    so u ask rman to recover to PIT X and it does so?

    what are you trying to do after that ? roll forward past X?

    did u open the db after the first recovery pass?
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    132
    I was trying to recover a dropped table using a time-based point in time recovery...but the table was dropped even before the time i specified in my rman script so i had to restore a more previous backup of the database, by specifying an earlier time than the time i specified in my first rman script...but rman is not allowing me to perfrom the 2nd recovery giving me the error msg i just specified.
    You think I'm going to have an affair with you? --Stanley Kowalski

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    are you using the method to do TSPITR whereby RMAN creates a 2nd instance on the fly , does recovery on the 2nd instance to the PIT

    also which version are you using?
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    132
    no im not doing a tspitr...version 8.1.7.
    You think I'm going to have an affair with you? --Stanley Kowalski

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    how do you recover a table without doing tablespace point in time recovery?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938

    Re: RMAN doesn't allow me to perform a 2nd point in time recovery after the first 1

    Originally posted by TheSlob
    RMAN doesn't allow me to perform a 2nd point in time recovery after the first 1 i did 10 minutes ago. it's giving me an RMAN-20011:target database incarnation is not current in recovery catalog. I already did a "reset database to incarnation x", i only have 2 incarnations i tried them both already but rman's still giving me the same error msg. what are your advice?
    First, after you opened with resetlogs, did you run RESET DATABASE? I guess no. If yes then:

    Now, read carefully Note 1070453.6

    All you have to do is:

    rman catalog rman/rman@rcat
    RMAN> list incarnation;
    RMAN> Set dbid
    RMAN> connect target un/pw@
    RMAN> reset database to incarnation 2;
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    132
    yes julian I did a "reset database".I'll try your suggestion thanks.
    You think I'm going to have an affair with you? --Stanley Kowalski

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width