Moving Developement to Production...
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Moving Developement to Production...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    88

    Moving Developement to Production...

    Dear Gurus,

    How to move packages from one server to other server. We have a development instance, and a production instance.

    Right now my development instance one package is there. I want to move
    development to Production (DEV to PROD)

    Development Instance

    SQL> select owner,object_name,object_type,status from dba_objects
    2 where object_name = 'AR_RECEIPT_LIB_PVT';

    OWNER
    ------------------------------
    OBJECT_NAME
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ----
    OBJECT_TYPE STATUS
    ------------------ -------
    APPS
    AR_RECEIPT_LIB_PVT
    PACKAGE VALID

    APPS
    AR_RECEIPT_LIB_PVT
    PACKAGE BODY VALID


    In This package now i want move to Production instance. How to move the packages from Development server to Production Server.

    Thanks for any input.

    Regards,
    Iyyappan.M

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    Y do u want to move?

    Copy the text of Package and complie in PRO Server.

    Abhay.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    The simplest way to do this for one package would be to spool the output from DBA_SOURCE for the package and run the resulting text file into your production system.

    If you have tools such as OEM or TOAD you can simply copy and paste the code.

    Regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    323
    Using exp/imp utility we can do this. Generate the export dump file from DEV database. and then use imp into PROD database using rows=n ignore=y, packages will be created.

    Hope this helps.
    Nagesh

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    88
    Hi,

    Thanks for ur reply. How to export only packages in Test database to
    Production Database.

    Packages means - Package specification & package body

    Can u please send me the script.

    Thanks in advance,
    Iyyappan.M

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    The developers must have the script when they were developing on the DEV database. Use the same script to create the package on PROD. Alternatively you can extract the code from DBA_SOURCE and create the script.

    HTH
    Sanjay
    Sanjay G.
    Oracle Certified Professional 8i, 9i.

    "The degree of normality in a database is inversely proportional to that of its DBA"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    323
    Originally posted by iyyappan
    Hi,

    Thanks for ur reply. How to export only packages in Test database to
    Production Database.

    Packages means - Package specification & package body

    Can u please send me the script.

    Thanks in advance,
    Iyyappan.M
    You cannot export packages alone. You can do this way..

    for instance you have user test:

    do the export first from DEV database

    exp test/pwd file=test.dmp owner=test log=testexp.log

    and then import into PROD

    imp test/pwd file=test.dmp fromuser=test touser=test rows=n ignore=y log=testimp.log

    this will import objects, those are not available in PROD database.

    NOTE : TRY ON YOUR TEST DATABASE PRIOR TO IMPLEMENT ON PROD DATABASE

    Hope this helps.
    Nagesh

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width