Datafile delted but........
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Datafile delted but........

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    376

    Datafile delted but........

    hi ,
    I noticed a funny thing,

    What i did was, i deleted a datafile belonging to users tablespace
    manually at the OS level.

    Then i created a tabe in that tablespace, which works fine; even
    though the underlying datafile is missing;

    Then i insert some rows....and commmit...ok it works fine...

    then i switch logfile...then also it works fine.....

    then i shutdown the database normally, then also it works fine.

    Then problem occurs only when you shutdown and restart the database.....
    why it is so ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    because when you start the database the control file will go looking for that datafile and when it cant find it, will chuck an error back at you

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    38
    well davey23uk has stated it just right..it is because the control file cannot find the file you deleted

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    SAN FRANCISCO, CA
    Posts
    306
    when u try to restart the database it will say that cannot start the db as the datafile is missing, u need to do a offline drop .

    but whats the thing u are trying to acheive ?
    Eat , Drink & Enjoy life -

    pravin_kini@hotmail.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    141
    But for the first insert into a recently created table, the DBWR process has to read in the datafile to put the segment blocks into the database buffer cache ... Or not ?
    How that could be done if there is no more datafile ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    449
    What about the logswitch? I thought a logswitch updates physical structure with an LSN and a chkpoint issued across to make sure db is in sync. Moreover bang_dba also shutdown the database (I assume it is not abort) and how did that happen successfully without all datafiles in sync? Thanks, ST2000

    ~

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    do alter system checkpoint

    switch log although forces a checkpoint it takes some time to update the datafile headers (seems like deferred) but explicit checkpoint update datafile instantaneously

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width