Enterprise Manager - can't see database - Page 3
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 34

Thread: Enterprise Manager - can't see database

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    200
    I'll check through all of that, can you tell me where the oratab file should be?
    What's the sound of one hand clapping - "CL"

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    The standard locations can be either /etc or /var/opt/oracle

    however you can define a custom one providing you have an environment variable ORATAB which specifies the path

    Regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    200
    Cheers, I'll check through it and get back to you.

    Allie
    What's the sound of one hand clapping - "CL"

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    200
    The Oratab file is in the /etc directory and can be read by everyone, I have copied the contents of the file below, there is really nothing in it.

    # This file is used by ORACLE utilities. It is created by root.sh
    # and updated by the Database Configuration Assistant when creating
    # a database.

    # A colon, ':', is used as the field terminator. A new line terminates
    # the entry. Lines beginning with a pound sign, '#', are comments.
    #
    # Entries are of the form:
    # $ORACLE_SID:$ORACLE_HOME::
    #
    # The first and second fields are the system identifier and home
    # directory of the database respectively. The third filed indicates
    # to the dbstart utility that the database should , "Y", or should not,
    # "N", be brought up at system boot time.
    #
    # Multiple entries with the same $ORACLE_SID are not allowed.
    #
    #
    # *:/opt/oracle920:N
    # *:/opt/oracle920:N
    *:/opt/oracle920:N

    Can I manually update it with the service that I need to see, and if so can you post the sintax.

    The listener is also in it's default location /opt/oracle920/network/admin - it's contents are

    PORTALS =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS =
    (COMMUNITY = tcp)
    (PROTOCOL = tcp)
    (Host = )
    (Port = 10001)
    )
    )

    SID_LIST_PORTALS =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (SID_NAME = PORTALS)
    (ORACLE_HOME = /opt/oracle920)
    )
    )

    T01 =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS =
    (COMMUNITY = tcp)
    (PROTOCOL = tcp)
    (Host = 10.0.0.101)
    (Port = 11001)
    )
    )

    SID_LIST_T01 =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (SID_NAME = T01)
    (ORACLE_HOME = /opt/oracle920)
    )
    )
    and the TNSnames.ora is
    T01 = (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS_LIST=
    (ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=localhost)
    (PORT=11001)))(CONNECT_DATA=(SID=T01)))

    thomas =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS =
    (PROTOCOL = TCP)
    (Host = 10.0.0.101)
    (Port = 9001)
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA = (SID = THOMAS))
    )


    teach57 =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS =
    (PROTOCOL = TCP)
    (Host = 10.23.0.6)
    (Port = 11057)
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA = (SID = T57))
    )

    teach37 =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS =
    (PROTOCOL = TCP)
    (Host = 10.23.0.6)
    (Port = 11037)
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA = (SID = T37))
    )

    PORTALS.WORLD =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS =
    (PROTOCOL = TCP)
    (HOST = 10.0.0.101)
    (PORT = 10001)
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA = (SID = PORTALS))

    They all look fine to me, and there isn't a connectivity problem as I can connect to PORTALS when I am stand alone,

    Thanks for your continuing help.

    Alison
    What's the sound of one hand clapping - "CL"

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    You can manually edit the oratab file and it should have an entry for each database in the form of

    INSTANCE_NAME:ORACLE_HOME:STARTUP_FLAG

    eg

    TESTDB:/home/oracle/product/9.2.0.1:Y

    Once you've added those entries try removeing the services.ora and snmp*.ora files and stopping and restarting the agent. Once you've done that check to see if the entries are recorded in the services.ora file.

    Regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    200
    Sorry still no joy - the oratab file now looks like the one below, but still no mention in the services.ora file

    #

    # This file is used by ORACLE utilities. It is created by root.sh
    # and updated by the Database Configuration Assistant when creating
    # a database.

    # A colon, ':', is used as the field terminator. A new line terminates
    # the entry. Lines beginning with a pound sign, '#', are comments.
    #
    # Entries are of the form:
    # $ORACLE_SID:$ORACLE_HOME::
    #
    # The first and second fields are the system identifier and home
    # directory of the database respectively. The third filed indicates
    # to the dbstart utility that the database should , "Y", or should not,
    # "N", be brought up at system boot time.
    #
    # Multiple entries with the same $ORACLE_SID are not allowed.
    #
    #
    # *:/opt/oracle920:N
    # *:/opt/oracle920:N
    *:/opt/oracle920:N
    portals:/opt/oracle920:Y
    What's the sound of one hand clapping - "CL"

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    Not sure if this is important but you should probably match the case in the oratab file to that of the listener defintion.

    Also have you tried defining the GLOBAL_DBNAME in the listener eg.
    Code:
    (SID_DESC =
       (GLOBAL_DBNAME = TESTDB)
       (ORACLE_HOME = /oracle/app/oracle/product/9.2.0.1)
       (SID_NAME = TESTDB)
    )
    Intelligent Agent is not so 'intelligent' me thinks

    Regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    200
    Sorry still no joy - and no it's not very intelegent.

    A
    What's the sound of one hand clapping - "CL"

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    200
    Jovery

    Thanks for all your help, any further feedback from anyone would be appreciated.

    I was asked by a colleague to run the following command:

    ora920@cream:~$ oemctl status oms sysman/manager

    To stop the management server - unfortunately it gave me the following error.

    SIGSEGV 11* segmentation violation
    stackbase=BFFFF0EC, stackpointer=BFFFD4A4

    Full thread dump:
    "SIGQUIT handler" (TID:0x421a62a0, sys_thread_t:0x823b578, state:R, thread_t
    : t@2051, sp:0x0 threadID:0x267b, stack_base:0xbf5ffaa0, stack_size:0x200000) pr
    io=1075701408
    "Finalizer thread" (TID:0x421a6088, sys_thread_t:0x823b450, state:CW, thread
    _t: t@1026, sp:0x0 threadID:0x267a, stack_base:0xbf7ffaa0, stack_size:0x200000)
    prio=1075701408
    "main" (TID:0x421a60b0, sys_thread_t:0x8227710, state:R, thread_t: t@1024, s
    p:0x0 threadID:0x266d, stack_base:0xbffff0ec, stack_size:0x200000) prio=10757014
    08 *current thread*
    java.lang.System.initializeSystemClass(System.java)
    Monitor Cache Dump:
    Registered Monitor Dump:
    Thread queue lock:
    Name and type hash table lock:
    String intern lock:
    JNI pinning lock:
    JNI global reference lock:
    BinClass lock:
    Class loading lock:
    Java stack lock:
    Code rewrite lock:
    Heap lock:
    Has finalization queue lock:
    Finalize me queue lock:
    Waiting to be notified:
    "Finalizer thread" (0x823b450)
    Monitor registry: owner "main" (0x8227710, 1 entry)
    Aborted
    What's the sound of one hand clapping - "CL"

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,003
    I'm sure you have looked at this before but I thought I would mention it anyway. Can you connect to the database on the linux server from another machine? Can you connect to the database on the linux server from the Oracle management machine using sqlplus? Have you tried to ping the linux machine using the computer name? If you are trying to run the management server on windows, I'm not sure why you would look at the oratab file on the linux machine. Either the listener on the linux machine works or it doesn't. Just a few thoughts.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width